Introduction and contact information

Graduate Diploma Program Description and Requirements

Approved Supervisors

Diploma Forms

 

Download the Diploma Program informational brochure

 


 

   

Introduction

 

From the time of CERLAC's establishment, graduate students have participated in its research projects and have completed MA and PhD degrees under the supervision of its Fellows.

 

Since 1986, CERLAC has offered a Graduate Diploma Program. This program, which is available to students registered in the master's or doctoral program at York, may be taken in conjunction with a single discipline or as part of an interdisciplinary course of study. To receive the Diploma, students must satisfy the requirements of their degree and those of the Graduate Diploma Program. 

 

If you have questions or comments concerning the Diploma Program which are not answered here, please contact: 

Centre for Research in Latin America and the Caribbean
8th Floor York Research Tower, 4700 Keele Street
York University
(416) 736-5237
E-mail: cerlac@yorku.ca

 

 

Download the Diploma Program informational brochure

 

return to top of page

 


 

 

Diploma Program Description and Requirements

 

Any York University student currently enrolled in a graduate degree program is eligible to apply to the Graduate Diploma Program in Latin American and Caribbean Studies. 

 

NOTE: Changes to the Diploma Program requirements were implemented on July 16, 2007. Students registered before this date may choose between the previous guidelines and the new ones. Students registering after this date will follow the new guidelines.  (Click here for an outline of the changes and to see the previous guidelines.)

 

As of July 16, 2007, the requirements of the program are:

1. Degree completion: Concurrent completion of a master's or doctoral degree at York University.

2. Language: A working knowledge of Spanish, Portuguese, or another language other than standard English needed for research in the region.

3. Regional experience: Personal experience for a period of at least two months, beyond simple tourism, in Latin America or the Caribbean.

4. Courses and/or Research Papers: A combination of two courses and/or research papers on Latin American or Caribbean-related topics accepted by the candidate's supervisor. One of these may be the candidate's thesis or dissertation. The research papers must be written outside of courses being counted towards this requirement. All papers and/or courses must be done at York University concurrently with the candidate's graduate degree program.

5. Breadth of knowledge in the region beyond what may be inferred from a reading of the candidate’s research papers and coursework. This requirement may be satisfied in one of two ways:

a) A third research paper acceptable to the candidate’s supervisor on a LAC-related topic different from those satisfying item 4 above. In addition, any paper counted towards this requirement must be written outside of any courses being counted towards the requirement for Courses and/or Research Papers. The Supervisor and the Diploma Coordinator must agree that the paper is appropriate, or

b) An oral examination on a LAC-related topic different from those of satisfying item 4 above, based on a reading list approved in advance by the candidate’s supervisor. The reading list should include at least twelve substantive scholarly sources.

6. Participation in CERLAC events: Participation in at least ten CERLAC colloquia or related activities during the candidate's graduate tenure. One-page critical commentaries on at least five of these events must be submitted to the candidate's supervisor for approval. Please use the Seminar Tracking Sheet to document your attendance.

A supervisor, drawn from the list of approved supervisors, advises each candidate and certifies that all Diploma requirements have been satisfied.

 

STEP 1: Application - One can apply at any stage during one's career as a graduate student at York simply by submitting a completed Application Form to CERLAC.

 

STEP 2: Choosing a Supervisor - The candidate must identify a  supervisor and submit the completed Supervisory Form to the Diploma Coordinator for approval.

 

STEP 3: Developing the Diploma Statement - The candidate must complete an initial version of the Program Completion Plan, outlining how each of the requirements for the program will be met. The Completion Plan should be updated every year the student is enrolled in the program. 

 

STEP 4: Completion and Certification - When all requirements for the program have been met (no later than six months following convocation), the candidate must submit the completed Diploma Certification Form, the Document Checklist, the FGS Convocation Information - Diploma form and all other necessary documentation to the Diploma Coordinator for final approval.  

The Diploma is normally awarded concurrently with the master's or doctoral degree upon satisfactory completion of both the Diploma and degree requirements. All requirements must be completed within six months of convocation.

 

Information about how to obtain your Diploma is available here.

 

return to top of page

 


 

 

Approved Supervisors

If you wish to propose a supervisor who is not on this list, please contact CERLAC. Supervisors must be York faculty appointed to the Faculty of Graduate Studies, and they must have expertise in Latin American and Caribbean studies.

 

NAME DEPARTMENT E-MAIL
Deborah Barndt Environmental Studies dbarndt@yorku.ca 
Simone R. Bohn Political Science sbohn@yorku.ca
Eduardo Canel Social Science, Development Studies ecanel@yorku.ca
Warren Crichlow Education ecrichlow@edu.yorku.ca 
Andrea Davis Humanities aadavis@yorku.ca
Nina de Shane Dance, Music deshane@yorku.ca 
Claudio Duran Philosophy cduran@yorku.ca 
Maria Figueredo Languages, Literatures & Linguistics mfiguere@yorku.ca
William (Bill) Found Geography, Environmental Studies wfound@yorku.ca 
Liette Gilbert Environmental Studies gilbertl@yorku.ca
Luin Goldring Sociology goldring@yorku.ca 
Andil Gosine Sociology andil@yorku.ca 
Ricardo Grinpsun Economics ricardo@yorku.ca 
Maria Constanza Guzman Translation, Hispanic Studies mguzman@glendon.yorku.ca
Lyse Hébert Translation lhebert@glendon.yorku.ca
Judith Adler Hellman Political Science, Social & Political Thought, Women's Studies jhellman@yorku.ca 
Anita Wagman Iscove Latin American Literature awiscove@yorku.ca
Michele Johnson History johnsonm@yorku.ca
Kamala Kempadoo Social and Political Thought, Sociology, Women's Studies kempadoo@yorku.ca 
Paul Lovejoy  History, Social & Political Thought  plovejoy@yorku.ca 
Michael Marcuzzi Music marcuzzi@yorku.ca
Carlota McAllister Anthropology carlota@yorku.ca 
David Morley Environmental Studies, Geography dmorley@yorku.ca 
David Murray Social Anthropology  damurray@yorku.ca  
Liisa North Political Science, Social & Political Thought  lnorth@yorku.ca 
Viviana Patroni  Social Science, Development Studies vpatroni@yorku.ca 
Linda Peake Geography, Women's Studies  lpeake@yorku.ca 
Ellie Perkins Environmental Studies esperk@yorku.ca 
Danielle Robinson Dance drobin@yorku.ca
Anne Rubenstein History anne_rubenstein@hotmail.com 
Judith Rudakoff Theatre rudakoff@yorku.ca 
Brent Rutherford  Environmental Studies  brentr@yorku.ca 
Sandra Schecter Education  srs@edu.yorku.ca 
Marilyn Silverman  Social Anthropology msilverm@yorku.ca 
Alan Simmons Sociology asimmons@yorku.ca 
Harry Smaller Education  hsmaller@edu.yorku.ca 
Edward Spence Environmental Studies, Geography esspence@yorku.ca 
David Szablowski Law & Society davidsz@yorku.ca
Patrick Taylor  Social & Political Thought taylorp@yorku.ca 
David Trotman History dtrotman@yorku.ca 
Penny Van Esterik Dance, Social Anthropology, Women's Studies  esterik@yorku.ca 
Paul Wilkinson Environmental Studies eswilkin@yorku.ca 
Robert Witmer Music, Social Anthropology rwitmer@yorku.ca 
Dan Yon Social Anthropology dyon@edu.yorku.ca 
Anna Zalik Environmental Studies azalik@yorku.ca

 

return to top of page

 


 

 

 

Diploma forms

Application Form - To register in the program. Download Form

 

Supervisory Form - To identify your Supervisor; requires the signatures of your Supervisor and of the Diploma Coordinator. Download Form

 

Diploma Program Completion Plan - To describe how you will meet the requirements for the Diploma. Download Form

 

Seminar Tracking Sheet - To document your attendance at CERLAC events in fulfillment of the participation requirement; requires the signatures of your Supervisor and of the Diploma Coordinator. Download Form

 

Diploma Certification Form - To certify your successful completion of the diploma requirements; requires the signatures of your Supervisor and of the Diploma Coordinator. Download Form

 

Document Checklist - To ensure you submit all necessary documentation. Download Form

 

FGS Convocation Information - Diploma form - Download Form

 

Download the Diploma Program informational brochure

 

 

[Return to the top of the page]

 


 

 

[About CERLAC]   [News & Events]    [Projects]    [Publications]    [Researchers]  

 

[Resources]       [LACS]      [Links]     [Contact us]     [Home]