Skip to main content

Faculty

Note that, unless otherwise stated, all extensions can be reached at (416) 736-2100.

 

  • Full-time Faculty
  • Contract Faculty
  • Affiliated Faculty
  • Retired Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Naomi Adelson,

Associate Professor

Associate Dean Research
nadelson@yorku.ca

Web Site

 

Tania Ahmad,

Sessional Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 2030

extension 77782

ahmadta@yorku.ca

Web Site

On leave Fall 2013

 

Othon Alexandrakis,

Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 2050

extension 40139

oalexand@yorku.ca

Web Site

Studyiing abroad in Greece

Arun Chaudhuri

Sessional Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 2046

extension 40143

akc@yorku.ca

Web Site

 
v

Kathryn Denning,

Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2036
extension 40136
kdenning@yorku.ca

Web Site

On leave 2014-15

 

 


Wenona Giles, Professor
851 Research Tower
extension 66340
wgiles@yorku.ca
Web Site

 

Dadaab Camp_Borderless-Education Wenona Giles

Gerald Gold,

Professor

Calumet College, 322
extension 77781
gerry@yorku.ca

Web Site

 

Shubhra Gururani,

Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2038
extension 33716
gururani@yorku.ca

Web Site

 

Zulfikar Hirji,

Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2040
extension 77783
zhirji@yorku.ca
Web Site

 

Teresa Holmes,

Graduate ProgramDirector,

Associate Professor
Vari Hall, 2054C
extension 40142
jth@yorku.ca
Web Site

 

Kenneth Little,

Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2044
extension 22327
wkl@yorku.ca
Web Site

Ken Little - Research - Belize

Margaret MacDonald,

Associate Professor

Founders College, 232
extension 77466
maggie@yorku.ca
Web Site

 

Carlota McAllister,

Associate Professor

815 Research Tower
extension 66121
carlota@yorku.ca
Web Site

 

David Murray,

Associate Professor

Founders, 312
extension 40481
damurray@yorku.ca
Web Site

Watch David Murray Video

Natasha Myers,

Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2032
extension 22394
nmyers@yorku.ca
Web Site

On leave 2013-14

 

Albert Schrauwers,

Associate Professor
Chair and Undergraduate Program Director

Vari Hall, 2054E
extension 77787
schrauwe@yorku.ca
Web Site

 

Marilyn Silverman,

Professor

Vari Hall, 2042
extension 77784
msilverm@yorku.ca
Web Site

On leave

 

Antonio Sorge

Sessional Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 2034

extension 33539

asorge@yorku.ca

Website

 

Christianne Stephens, Sessional Assistant Professor

Vari Hall, 2048

extension 77786

stephecv@yorku.ca

Web Site

 

Daphne Winland,

Associate Professor

Vari Hall, 2034
extension 33539
winland@yorku.ca
Web Site

On leave 2013-14

Croatian Responses to Yugoslav Breakup

Daniel Yon,

Associate Professor

Winters 268
extension 88806
dyon@edu.yorku.ca
Web Site

 

Contract Faculty

Dr. Victor Barac

Vari Hall, 2032

extension 22394

vbarac@yorku.ca

Website

Dr. Natasha Beranek

Centre for Refugee Studies

Website

Dr. Marc Lafleur

Atkinson College, 630
extention 33957
marclflr@yorku.ca

Dr. Michael Connors Jackman

Vari Hall, 2032

extension 22394

mcj@yorku.ca

Website

 

Dr. Karl Schmid

Vari Hall, 2042
extension 77784
kschmid@yorku.ca

Website

Dr. Maya Shapiro

Vari Hall, 2030

extension 77782

shapirom@yorku.ca

Website

Dr. Carol Tator

Vari Hall, 2042
extension 77784
ctator@yorku.ca
Website

Dr. Sandra Widmer

Vari Hall, 2029
extension 77785

swidmer@yorku.ca

Website

Affliated Faculty

 

Gary Butler

Associate Professor

Department of Humanities
McLaughlin College, 030
extension 44090
gbutler@yorku.ca

Web Site

Research interests: Anthropology , Culture and Cultural Studies , Oral Narrative Discourse, African & Caribbean Oral Tradition

Durston, Alan

Associate Professor

History Department
2126 Vari Hall
416-736-2100 ext. 66962
durston@yorku.ca

Web site

Research Interests: Latin America, Cultural History

Denielle Elliott

Asst. Professor

Health & Society

Department of Social Sciences

S704 Ross Building
x 77823

dae@yorku.ca

Web site

Research interests: Colonialism and Postcolonialism; Medicine, Science and Technology; Pharmaceuticals; Ethnography; Anthropology of Morality; Poverty

Stephen Gaetz

Associate Professor

Faculty of Education

416-736-2100 x20050

sgaetz@edu.yorku.ca

Web site

Research interests: Homelessness, infectious diseases and pandemics; Adolescence, youth culture and resistance; Street youth, their economic strategies, legal and justice issues; Strategies for mobilizing homelessness research

Magdalena Kazubowski-Houston

Assistant Professor

Performance studies

Faculty of Fine Arts

mkazubow@yorku.ca

Web site

Research interests: experimental and performance ethnography, ethnographic storytelling, physical theatre, political/activist theatre, the Roma people, socialism/postsocialism, aging, violence and terrorism.

Meg Luxton
Professor
Director, Graduate Program in Gender, Feminist and Women's Studies

416 736 2100 x40104

mluxton@yorku.ca

Web site

Research Interests: sex/gender divisions of labour and work, paid and unpaid; Canadian and international women's movements, Canadian working class communities; feminist theory, including feminist political economy.

Felipe Montoya

Professor, Chair of Neotropical Conservation and Director of Las Nubes Project in Costa Rica

Faculty of Environmental Studies

fmontoya@yorku.ca

Web site

Research Interests: Environmental Anthropology; Critical Studies in Development; Environmental Conservation in the Neotropics; Community Livelihood and Well-Being.

Michael Nijhawan
Associate Professor

Department of Sociology
2146 Vari Hall
ext. 77994
nijhawan@yorku.ca

Web site

Research interests: Cultural Sociology; Social Theory; Sociology and Anthropology of Violence; Transnational Religion and Diaspora; Popular Culture and Performance; South Asia, Germany

Retired Faculty

Malcolm Blincow,

Associate Professor, Emeritus

Vari Hall, 2050
extension 40139
blincow@yorku.ca

Web Site

 

Margaret Critchlow
(previous surname, Rodman)

Professor, Emerita
mrodman@yorku.ca

Web Site

Phillip H. Gulliver

Distinguished Research Professor, Emeritus
Web Site

Peter Harries-Jones

Professor, Emeritus
peterhj@yorku.ca
Web Site

Frances Henry

Professor, Emerita
fhenry@yorku.ca

Web Site

Evelyn Kallen

Professor, Emerita
ekallen@cogeco.ca

Web site

David Paul Lumsden,

Associate Professor, Emeritus

Founders College 135
extension 77514
lumsden@yorku.ca
Web Site

Judith Nagata

Professor, Emerita
jnagata@yorku.ca
Web Site

 

John A. Price

Professor, Emeritus

1933-1988

Web Site

Joan R. Rayfield

Professor, Emerita

1919-2001

Web Site

Shelly Romalis Associate Professor, Emerita
sromalis@earthlink.net
Web Site
Gustav E. Thaiss Associate Professor, Emeritus
gthaiss@yorku.ca
Web Site

Penny Van Esterik,

Professor, Emerita

135 Founders
extension 77514
esterik@yorku.ca
Web Site