Skip to main content

Executive Committee



Provisionally approved June 2011

In discharging its functions the Committee shall:

  1. Co-ordinate the work of the Council and its committees by:
    1. Directing the flow of Council business including, where appropriate, referring matters to Council committees;
    2. Maintaining oversight of the work of Council committees;
    3. Administering the process of nominating and electing members to serve on the Council and its committees, and as Liberal Arts and Professional Studies members on Senate and Liberal Arts and Professional Studies members on Faculty-representative Senate committees; and
    4. Scheduling the agenda of the Council and approving all matters going before the Council.
  1. Advise and make recommendations to the Council on all matters pertaining to:
    1. The organization of the Council and its committees;
    2. The organization and function of academic governance in the Faculty.
  1. Authorize altering the order of business for any meeting of the Council, provided that the order to be followed is shown on the Notice of Meeting;
  1. Be responsible for the nomination and elections of officers of the Council, members of Council committees, and Faculty representatives on Senate Executive and any other Senate committees; regulate the election of students, contract faculty members, CUPE Unit 1 Teaching Assistants, and Professional and Managerial Staff (CPMs) and members of the Faculty support staff (YUSA) to the Council; delegate the nomination and elections to a sub-committee and/or Council staff;
  1. Periodically review the Rules and Procedures and governance structure of the Council or its committee system, and recommend amendments to the above for the approval of the Council;
  1. In the case of the absence or illness of the Chair and the Vice-Chair, appoint one of the members of the Council to act as Chair pro tempore and for such period the member so appointed shall act as, and have all the powers of, the Chair;
  1. Serve as a summer authority following Senate practice, and act on behalf of the Council from the last meeting of the Council in the spring, to the first meeting of the Council in the fall;
  1. Establish special committees to deal with matters of general concern that do not fall within the accepted area of jurisdiction of an existing committee, with the approval of the Council; perform oversight and report to the Council on the creation of ad hoc sub-committees by Council committees. When such special or ad-hoc committees are formed regularly, consider recommending that they be approved as committees of the Council or sub-committees of a committee of Council;
  1. Negotiate with the President the procedures for Decanal searches in the Faculty.


Chair of Faculty Council (who shall Chair the meetings) for a one-year term
Vice-Chair of Council
Seven faculty members elected at-large for a three-year term
Three students appointed by the Student Council of the Liberal Arts & Professional Studies on an annual basis

Ex-officio (non-voting) members
Dean or dean’s designate
Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies representative on the Executive Committee of Senate,
Secretary of Council or designate

Faculty members will be elected at-large for a three-year rolling cycle. Members elected at-large will not be from the same School/Department. Each year, one-third of the membership turns over and will be replaced on a rotational basis by other faculty members from different Schools/Departments who are not already represented on the Committee. At all times there shall be at least one member from each of the professional, humanities, and social sciences Departments/Schools. Units will self-identify as one of the following:  humanities, social science, or professional studies, reported to the Council Office by January 1.

At least half of the voting members of the Committee, the majority of whom are full-time faculty members, constitutes a quorum.

MEMBERSHIP 2014-2015
Anne MacLennan, Faculty Council Chair
Idil Boran, Faculty Council Vice-Chair
Ali Asgary, School of Administrative Studies
Ida Ferrara, Department of Economics
Susan Ingram, Department of Humanities
Robert Kenedy, Department of Sociology
Gerard Naddaf, Department of Philosophy
James Sheptycki, Department of Social Science
Brenda Spotton Visano, School of Public Policy & Administration/ Department of Economics
Sayjon Ariyarathnam, Representative from SCOLAPS
Maria-Palma Zito, Representative from SCOLAPS
Ex-Officio Members (non-voting):
Martin Singer, Dean
Kim Michasiw, Vice Dean

Lesa Cozzi , Secretary of Council


The Executive Committee will normally meet the last Wednesday of each month (September to June) from 1:00pm to 3:00pm in Room N926N, Ross Building:

2014/2015 Committee Meeting Dates
September 3, 2014 March 17, 2015**
September 24, 2014

March 25, 2015

October 29, 2014

April 29, 2015

November 26, 2014 May 27, 2015
January 7, 2015* June 24, 2015
February 25, 2015  

*The December meeting will be held on January 7 due to the Christmas break and will be replacing the previously scheduled January 28, 2015 meeting. This meeting will be held from 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

**Special Executive Committee meeting.


Consultation Document: 2014 Decanal Search Committee Composition and Selection Procedures (DRAFT)

Rules and Procedures of Council


Reports to Council