Skip to main content

Faculty

A complete listing of York Geography Faculty with contact information and links to individual profiles is provided below.

External calls to faculty members must go through the Department of Geography Main Office: +001 (416) 736-5107.

Name Research Interests Phone
(internal extension)
Office / Lab
(Ross Building, unless otherwise indicated)
E-mail
Bain, Alison urban social geography, geographies of the arts, creativity & sexuality in Canadian cities 66192 N422 abain@yorku.ca
Basu, Ranu urban social and political geography and planning 22436 N403 ranubasu@yorku.ca
Bello, Rick climatology, Arctic Canada, evapotranspiration studies 22561 N408 bello@yorku.ca
Best, Ulrich German and European Studies, urban geography 22406 718 York Research Tower ubest@yorku.ca
Cheng, Qiuming GIS, natural resources assessment, mathematical geology 22842 116 Petrie qiuming@yorku.ca
Das, Raju political economy, international development, state-society relations, social movements, South Asia 22450 S411 rajudas@yorku.ca
Drezner, T. biogeography, tropical ecosystems, arid lands 20511 S408 click here for e-mail
Erickson, Bruce cultural geography, political ecology, recreation studies 33010 S404 bge@yorku.ca
Jenkins, William M. cultural and historical geography, Canada and the British imperial world 22488 S410 wjenkins@yorku.ca
Hyndman, Jennifer geographies of forced migration/immigration, humanitarian aid in response to conflict/asylum/disasters, refugee (re)settlement, critical and feminist geopolitics 33689 849 York Research Tower jhyndman@yorku.ca
Kelly, Philip economic geography, labour, migration, youth, Southeast Asia, Philippines, Canada 44076 836 York Research Tower pfkelly@yorku.ca
Kwak, Min-Jung urban transnationalism, immigrant entrepreneurship, education migration 33327 S413 Ross mikwak@yorku.ca
Lo, Lucia ethnic consumer behaviour, immigrant economic integration 66194 N402 lucialo@yorku.ca
Lunstrum, Elizabeth nature-society relations, political geography, politics of conservation 46010 371 York Lanes lunstrum@yorku.ca
Mensah, Joseph Critical development theory and Africa; gender and development; space, race, and employment; geography of Aboriginal land claims 66344 N413A Ross jmensah@yorku.ca
Preston, Valerie gender and urban labour markets, immigration and Canadian cities, social and economic effects of economic restructuring 22421 S411 vpreston@yorku.ca
Remmel, Tarmo remote sensing and GIS algorithm development 22496 N423 remmelt@yorku.ca
Robert, André fluvial geomorphology, forms and processes in alluvial channels 22002 S406 arobert@yorku.ca
Roth, Robin political ecology, environmental conservation and conflict, highland Southeast Asia 22491 N407 rothr@yorku.ca
Sturm, Tristan critical geopolitics, environmental disasters 22482 S404D tsturm@yorku.ca
Tank, Suzanne Arctic and boreal aquatic biogeochemistry 22763 N411 tanks@yorku.ca
Tufts, Steven economic/labour geography, geographies of labour markets and unions 55107 S404C tufts@yorku.ca
Vandergeest, Peter Environments and identities in Southeast Asia; agro food systems and industrial aquaculture; cultural politics of development. 66191 N405 pvander@yorku.ca
Wood, Patricia citizenship and identity, diversity in Canadian cities 55107 S409/N418A pwood@yorku.ca
Young, Kathy high arctic wetland hydrology, ecohydrology, hydroclimatology, snow hydrology 22371 / 66587 N415/203 CLH klyoung@yorku.ca