Skip to main content

Faculty

Name Extension Location Email  

Kristin Andrews
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Philosophy of Psychology, Animal Cognition, Folk Psychology
 
Personal Website

77590S420 Ross

andrewsk@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

Jacob Beck
Assistant Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Psychology, and Mind

Personal Website

22582 S439 Ross

jbeck@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

Idil Boran
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Ethics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Public Policy, Business Ethics

Personal Website

30138S426 Ross

iboran@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

Susan Dimock
Full Professor
Member of the Graduate Program


Research Interests
Meta-ethics, theoretical and practical; Political Philosophy; Philosophy of Law; Punishment Theory; Early Modern History of Philosophy.

Personal Website

77098 227MC

dimock@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

Michael Gilbert
Full Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Argumentation Theory, informal Logic, Critical Reasoning; Gender Theory, Transgender Theory.
 
Personal Website
77584 S424 Ross

gilbert@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

 

Michael Giudice
Associate Professor
Undergraduate Program Director
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Legal Philosophy, Associated areas in Political and Moral Theory.
 
Personal Website

77556 S426 Ross

giudice@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

Tuesday 10:30 - 11:30

Verena Gottschling
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program


Research Interests
Evolutionary Psychology, massive modularity, adaptionism, rationality, reasoning and decision making, mental imagery, nonlinguistic thoughts, perception
 
Personal Website

44722 S444 Ross

vgott@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

 

 

Jagdish Hattiangadi
Full Professor
Member of the Graduate Program


Research Interests
Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Language, History of Ideas, Metaphysics, Epistemology.
 
Personal Website

77524 S437 Ross

jagdish@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

Henry Jackman
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, American Pragmatism.
 
Personal Website

77595 S434 Ross

hjackman@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

David Jopling
Full Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Philosophy of Psychology (especially philosophy of psychotherapy and psychoanalysis; problems of the self; philosophy and cognitive science; the concept of person), Philosophy of Psychology.

Personal Website

77588 S435 Ross

jopling@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

 

Joseph Keeping
Associate Professor            Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests       Phenomenology, Existentialism, Philosophy of Mind (especially emotions and embodiment), Philosophy of Psychology


77592 VC 225

keeping@yorku.ca

Office Hours

 

 

Muhammad Ali Khalidi
Associate Professor        Cognitive Science Coordinator
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Philosophy of MInd and Language and the Philosophy of Science (especially Cognitive Science). He has also done some research on Medieval Arab-Islamic Philosophy.
 
Personal Website

77586 S438 Ross

khalidi@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

 

Alice MacLachlan
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Ethics, Feminist Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy.
 
Personal Website

77587 S418 Ross

amacla@yorku.ca *

Office Hours:

 

 

Daniel MacArthur
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Philosophy of Science, Physics, Philosophical Naturalism. and the realism debate.

66346 S425 Ross

djmc@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

Esteve Morera
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Philosophy of History, Social and Political Philosophy, Marxism, and the thought of Antonio Gramsci, African Philosophy .

77591 S419 Ross

morera@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

 

Robert Myers
Full Professor
Chair
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Theoretical ethics, related issues in epistemology and philosophy of action, political philosophy.
 
Personal Website

77575 S431 Ross

rmyers@yorku.ca

Office Hours:
By Appointment Only

 

Gerard Naddaf
Full Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Ancient Greek philosophy, particularly of the Presocratics and Plato , and on the origin and development of allegory.

Personal Website

77594 S443 Ross

naddaf@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

Judy Pelham
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
Philosophical Logic, Work of Bertrand Russell and the history of early analytic philosophy, Psychology of Reasoning.
 
Personal Website

447211 S440 Ross

pelham@yorku.ca

Office Hours:

 

Claudine Verheggen
Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director

Research Interests
Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology and Metaphysics. She has a special interest in Wittgenstein and Davidson.

77553 S436 Ross

cverheg@yorku.ca

www.yorku.ca/cverheg

Office Hours:
By appointment only

Jim Vernon
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests
19th and 20th Century continental Philosophy, German Idealism, Kant and Hegel.

Research page

33519 S427 Ross

jvernon@yorku.ca

 

Office Hours:

 

Duff Waring
Associate Professor
Member of the Graduate Program

Research Interests Ethics, bioethics (particularly patient selection for scarce, lifesaving resources, biomedical research ethics, risk assessment of new biomedical technologies), and philosophy of medicine (particularly psychiatry).

Detailed Profile

33522 S428 Ross

dwaring@yorku.ca

Office Hours: