Skip to main content

Faculty and Graduate Students

 Name Research interests E-mail Campus Address & Telephone Ext.
Vijay Agnew
Social Science
Women's Studies , Race and Racism , Feminist theory with particular emphasis on racism, History of Asian, African, and Caribbean women in Canada; South Asian women;, Violence against immigrant women, and NGOs of immigrant women vagnew@yorku.ca S717 Ross, 30153

Mahmudul Anam

Economics

  manam@econ.yorku.ca 1136 Vari Hall,   20583
Preet Aulakh

Preetmohinder Singh Aulakh

Schulich School of Business

Economic Liberalization in India; Internationalization of Indian Firms; Indian Business Groups and State-Owned Enterprises; Technology Transfers and Economic Development paulakh@schulich.yorku.ca N305C Schulich, 77941
Himani BannerjiHimani Bannerji
Sociology
Historical sociology and social history, with a focus on India; feminism and women’s movement; communalism, riots and war; class, class and ethnic identities; social and political thought of Rabindranath Tagore himanib@yorku.ca 2104 Vari Hall, 77993
 

Arun Chaudhuri

Anthropology

Anthropology of religion, politics, public culture, multiculturalism, secularism, South Asia, Hinduism, race/ethnicity, nationalism, new
religious movements, globalization, immigration, media, and technology.
akc@yorku.ca

2046 Vari Hall,

40143

Raju DasRaju Das
Geography
Poverty and uneven development; Technology, nature, population and production relations; agrarian transition; globalization of 'new agriculture and labour; developmental policies of the state, and state-society relations; neoliberalism; radical social movements; social capital; Marxist political economy; theory of class, the state, and capitalism under new imperialism; space-society relations; nature of radical theorizing; India rajudas@yorku.ca S411 Ross, 22450
Tania DasguptaTania Dasgupta
Equity Studies and Sociology
Twice migrated South Asian migrants to Canada,, political economy of South Asian women (gender, race and class), South Asian diaspora tdasgu@yorku.ca 310 Atkinson College, 66345
Enakshi Dua
Women's Studies
  edua@yorku.ca 607 Kaneff Tower, 20143
Shubhra GururaniShubhra Gururani
Anthropology
Critical political ecologies, space and place, postcolonial development, and histories of science and nature in the Indian Himalayas; politics of (sub)urbanization in India outside of New Delhi gururani@yorku.ca 2038 Vari Hall, 33716
Eve Haque
Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Multiculturalism, immigration, white settler nationalism and language policy ehaque@yorku.ca S534 Ross, 20764
Nadia Hasan

Nadia Hasan

Graduate Student Political Science (core course instructor)

Religion, piety, gender and nationalism in Pakistan and Pakistani diaspora; Islam and feminism; South Asian diasporas; postcolonial theory; gender and sexuality nadiazh@yorku.ca

N828 Ross, 33646

Zulfikar HirjiZulfikar Hirji
Anthropology
Swahili-speaking Muslim communities on the East African Coast zhirji@yorku.ca 2040 Vari Hall, 77783
Ali Kazimi

Ali Kazimi

Film Studies

Race, migration, indigeneneity, history and memory with a particular interest in South Asia and Canada

akazimi@yorku.ca

234 CFT, 44556
Sailaja KrishnamurtiSailaja Krishnamurti
Humanities
Representations of migration; race, gender, sexuality; diaspora and transnationalism in literature and theory; visual culture and comics; South Asian history, politics, religions
skrishna@yorku.ca 321 Founders College,  88703
Arun MukherjeeArun Mukherjee
English
  amukherj@yorku.ca 342 Stong College, 30442
Radhika Mongia

Radhika Mongia

Sociology

Feminist, Marxist and Postcolonial Theory; Political and Historical Sociology; Study of "Transnational" and "Global" Processes rmongia@yorku.ca 2080 Vari Hall, 66406
Ananya Mukherjee ReedAnanya Mukherjee Reed
Political Science
  ananya@yorku.ca 630 Kaneff Tower, 20266
 

Chandan Narayan

Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics

  chandann@yorku.ca S546A Ross, 33791
Michael NijhawanMichael Nijhawan
Sociology
Cultural Sociology; Social Theory; Sociology and Anthropology of Violence; Transnational Religion and Diaspora; Popular Culture and Performance; South Asia, Germany nijhawan@yorku.ca 2146 Vari Hall, 77994
Shobna NijhawanShobna Nijhawan
Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
The Hindi public sphere, women's literature, literature on nationalism, medical literature (all in Hindi and Urdu) shobna@yorku.ca
S570 Ross, 88725
 

Nalini Persram

Social Science

Postcolonial Theory; Western Social & Political Thought; Social, Political & Cultural Thought; Feminism; Modernity, Occidentalism & the Caribbean & Latin America; Guyana; Eco-subjectivity persramn@yorku.ca 744 Kaneff Tower, 46012
Fahim QuadirFahim Quadir
Social Science, International Development Studies
Aid effectiveness, good governance, civil society, rising donors, micro-finance, and trans-border social movements for peace, human security, and human development fquadir@yorku.ca 230R York Lanes, 66937
Indhu Rajagopal
Social Science
Theoretical analysis in political philosophy, political  economy, caste rajagopa@yorku.ca 229 Founders College, 77809

Shyam Ranganathan

Philosophy

South Asian philosophy (especially South Asian Moral Philosophy), Yoga (Meditation, especially Patanjali), Ethical Theory (Normative theory and Metaethics), Philosophy of Language, Translation Theory, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion shyamr@yorku.ca S446 Ross, 77543

Darryl Reed

Business and Society

  dreed@yorku.ca S764 Ross, 77817
janet rubinoffJanet Rubinoff
History and Humanities
  janetr@yorku.ca 318 Founders College, 20415
Trichy Sankaran
Music
  tsank@yorku.ca 347 Accolade East, 77135

Frank Scherer

Communication Studies

Orientalism, Self-Orientalization and Representation in early Indian Cinema fscherer@yorku.ca 3034 TEL
Marta Simidchieva

Marta Simidchieva

Humanities

Dari and Indo-Persian literature, Indo-Iranian literature, history of Islamic civilization msimid@yorku.ca 162-164, Founders College, 22581
Hira SinghHira Singh
Sociology
Social Theory; Social Inequality; Social Movements; Feudalism in Non-European and European Societies; Colonialism and Popular Protests; Empire and Indenture (South Africa) hsingh@yorku.ca 2106 Vari Hall, 60301
 

Alicia Turner

Humanities

  turnera@yorku.ca 241 Vanier College, 66979

Nishant Upadhyay

Graduate Student Social and Political Thought (core course instructor)

Postcolonial Theory, Decolonization, Critical Race Feminist Theory, Transnational Feminisms, Indigeneity, Queer Theory, Diaspora Studies, Critical Area Studies, Critical Intersectionality, Dalit Epistemologies, Knowledge Production and Pedagogy, South Asia and South Asian Diaspora nishantu@yorku.ca N828 Ross, 33646
Sundar Viswanathan
Music, Fine Arts
Hindi Popular Music and Cinema, Music Theory and
Analysis, Music Aesthetics, Jazz Improvisation, Jazz Theory and
Analysis, Bossa Nova, Jazz Performance Practice, Hybrid musics and 'Fusion' genres, Saxophone Performance and Pedagogy
sundarv@yorku.ca 365 Accolade East, 70184