_home.gif (1274 bytes)

ESSAOUIRA CONFERENCE PARTICIPANTS

Cynthia Becker (St. Thomas University, USA), "African Aesthetics, Catholic Saints, and Islamic Spirits: A Comparison of Moroccan Gnawa and Cuban Santería Ceremonies and Beliefs" CJBECKER@stthomas.edu

Jean Boulègue (Director of Centre de Recherches Africaines, Paris-Sorbonne, FRANCE), "La contestation musulmane et l'esclavage dans les royaumes du nord du Sénégal, au XVIIè siècle" cra@univ-paris1.fr

Vincent Brown    (Duke University, USA), "The Spirits of Slave Resistance: Religion, the Dead, and Social Conflict in Jamaican Slave Society"
vabx@hotmail.com

Hélène Claudot-Hawad (CNRS Aix-en-Provence, FRANCE), "Etranger, esclave et commandeur des croyants"
hawad@univ-aix.fr

Timothy Cleaveland (University of Georgia, USA), "Islam and 'Illegitimate' Slavery: The West African Narratives of Enslavement and Family Origins"
tcleave@history.ufl.edu

Yacine Daddi Addoun (York University, CANADA), "L'esclavage dans la jurisprudence islamic: le cas de l'ibadisme"
yadaddi@yorku.ca

Chouki El Hamel (Duke University, USA), "Slave Songs: the Gnawa and the American Blues" chamel@acpub.duke.edu

Mohammed Ennaji (Université Mohammed V, MOROCCO), "La servitude entre ciel et terre: le maître des cieux et le maître des lieux"
naji@fusion.net.ma

Omar Eno (York University, CANADA), "Slavery in the Islamic Society of Somalia" jarer@yorku.ca

Denis Fomin (University of Buea, CAMEROON), "Slavery and Christianity Along the Cameroon Coast and Fernando Po 1840-1900"
fomin_esd_1999@yahoo.com

William Foster (Selwyn College, University of Cambridge, U.K.), "Transatlantic Slavery in Reverse?: Reconsidering the Captivities of American Merchant Sailors in the Muslim Western Sahara."
william.foster@atlantichistory.org.

Tim Fuson (Department of Music, University of California, Berkeley, USA), "Where are you, Children of the Sudan? The recollection of slavery in the lila ritual of the Gnawa of Morocco"
fuson@uclink4.berkeley.edu

Ibrahim Hamza (York University) "Slave Religious Practices in the Nineteenth century Hausaland"
hamza@yorku.ca

Deborah Kapchan (University of Texas at Austin, USA), "Possessed by History: Women's Narratives of Possession in the Gnawa Cult In Morocco"
Kapchan@mail.utexas.edu

Martin Klein (University of Toronto, CANADA) "Islam, Christianity and the Problem of Slavery" Martin.Klein@utoronto.ca

Paul Lovejoy and David Trotman (both at York University, CANADA), "Trinidad Muslims and the Return of Africa Movement, 1800-50"
plovejoy@yorku.ca and dtrotman@yorku.ca

Vittorio Morabito  (Università degli studi di Catania, ITALY), "Comment le culte à Saint-Benoît-l'Africain de Palerme devient une religion des esclaves et des opprimés" morabito@mbox.unict.it

Ismael Musah Montana (York University, CANADA), "Al-Timbuktaw on Bori Ceremonies of "Sudan-Tunis" in the Early Nineteenth Century Regency of Tunis"
iumusah@yorku.ca

Olatunji Ojo (York University, CANADA), "Islam, Slaves and Slavery in Ibadan"
ojo@yorku.ca

Annarose Pandey (Cornell University, USA), "Practicing Bricolage: Spirit Possession as a Theory of Slavery in West Africa"
ayp4@cornell.edu

Joao Reis (Universidade Federal da Bahia, BRAZIL), "Candomblé in 19th-Century Bahia: Between Negotiation and Repression" jjreis@zaz.com.br or
jjreis@ufba.br

Renée Soulodre-La France (York University, CANADA), "Slaves, Statues and Saints: Negotiating Religious Iconography in 18th Century New Granada"
soulodre@yorku.ca

Sean Stilwell (University of Vermont, USA), "Jihad, Enslavement and Royal Slavery in the Sokoto Caliphate"
sstilwel@zoo.uvm.edu