Storm Damage Surveys - 22 July 2002

- New Tecumseth, Aurora -

Investigators
David Sills, MSC-King Radar

Quick Facts

Severe Weather Type 

Microbursts (Two)

Location (Region)

New Tecumseth (Barrie-Huronia)

Aurora (York)

Time

New Tecumseth - 1300 EDT (1700 UTC)

Aurora - approx. 1400 EDT (1800 UTC)

Magnitude

F0

Path Length

3 km (New Tecumseth), 4 km (Aurora)

Direction of Motion

215 (New Tecumseth), mainly 225 (Aurora)

Path Width

Max. 500 m (New Tecumseth), max. 2 km (Aurora),

Significant Damage

Numerous trees, including large trees, snapped, uprooted and bent, antennae bent, minor damage to yard items, etc.

Damage Estimate (Source) 

~ $ 200 000 (DS / King Valley Golf Club)

Evidence

Site surveys, witness descriptions