1986: Jay Ingram

1985: Helen Sawyer Hogg

Astronomer, teacher, newspaper columnist, author, first woman President of RCI.

1984: Lister Sinclair

Journalist, author, editor of Canadian Science News Service.

1983: Lydia Dotto

Mathematician, actor, CBC executive and radio host, author of books, plays, film scripts and radio documentaries, President of the Canadian Conference of the Arts.

1982: David Suzuki

Geneticist, author, teacher, radio and television host, environmentalist.

Microbiologist, radio host of Quirks and Quarks, contributing editor of Owl magazine.

1987: J. Tuzo Wilson

Geophyicist, teacher, author, television host, administrator (Ontario Science Centre).