Presidents of the RCI

A chronological list of the 103 men and 7 women who have served as President of The Royal Canadian Institute since its foundation in 1849.

1849-50:  Killaly, Hon H.H.

1850:       Rankin, Charles, C.E.

1850-52:  Logan, Sir William Edmund, C.E., F.R.S.

1852-53:  Lefroy, General Sir John Henry, K.C.M.G., C.B., F.R.S.

1853-55:  Robinson, Hon. Sir John Beverly

1855-56:  Allan, Hon. George William

1856-58:  Draper, Hon. William Henry, C.B., Q.C.

1859-61:  Wilson, Sir Daniel, B.A., LL.D., F.R.S.

1861-62:  Hagarty, Hon. Sir John Hawkins

1862-64:  McCaul, Rev. John, B.A., M.A., Ll.D.

1864-66:  Mowat, Hon. Sir Oliver, Q.C.

1866-68:  Croft, Henry Holmes, D.C.L.

1868-70:  Hincks, Rev. William, F.L.S.

1870-76:  Scadding, Rev. Henry, B.A., M.A., D.D.

1876-78:  Loudon, James, M.A.

1878-81:  Wilson, Sir Daniel, B.A., LL.D., F.R.S., F.R.S.C.

1881-82:  Langton, John, M.A.

1882-84:  Buchan, John Milne, B.A., M.A.

1884-86:  Ellis, William Hodgson, B.A., M.A., M.B., LL.D.

1886-88:  Vander Smissen, Wiliam Henry, B.A., M.A.

1888-91:  Carpmeal, Charles, B A., M.A., F.R.S.C.

1891-93:  Harvey, Arthur, F.R.S.C.

1893-95:  Wright, Robert Ramsay, B.Sc., M.A., LLD., F.R.S.C.

1895-98:  Macallum, Archibald Byron, M.A., Ph.D., LL.D., F.R.S.

1898-1900:  Walker, Sir Byron Edmund, D.C.L., F.G.S.

1900-02:  Bain, James, D.C.L.

1902-04:  Coleman, Arthur Philemon, B.A., M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.

1904-06:  Kennedy, George, B.A., M.A., LL.B., LL.D., K.C.

1906-08:  Stupart, Sir Frederic

1908-10:  Mackenzie, John Joseph, B.A.,M.D.

1910-13:  Tyrrell, Joseph Burr, B.Sc., M.A., LL.D., F.G.S.

1913-16:  Arnoldi, Frank, K.C.

1916-17:  McLennan, Sir George Cunningham, B.A., Ph.D., LL.D., F.R.S.

1917-19:  Clark, John Murray, B.A., M.A., LL.B., K.C.

1919-25:  Fields, John Charles, B.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.

1925-26:  Macleod, John James Richard, M.B., D.Sc., Ch.B., D.P.H., LL.D., F.R.S.

1926-28:  Hewitt, Arthur

1928-29:  Parks, William Arthur, B.A., Ph.D., LL.D., F.R.S.

1929-30:  Thomson, Robert Boyd, B.A., F.R.S.C.

1930-31:  Russell, Thomas Alexander, B.A., LL.D.

1931-32:  Burton, Eli Franklin, B.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.C.

1932-33:  Patterson, John, M.A., F.R.S.C.

1933-35:  Falconer, Sir Robert Alexander, B.A., M.A., B.D., K.C., M.G., D.Litt., LL.D.,         D.C.L., F.R.S.C.

1935-38:  Thomson, Joseph Ellis, B.A.Sc., Ph.D.

1938-39:  Clute, Arthur Roger, K.C.

1939-40:  Dymond, John Richardson, B.A., M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.C.

1940-41:  Maclachlan, Wills, B.A.Sc.

1941-42:  Rogerts, Linnaeus Joslyn, B.A.Sc., M.A.

1942-43:  McIlwraith, Thomas Forsyth, M.A., F.R.S.C.

1943-44:  Holden, Otto, B.A.Sc., C.E., D.Eng

1944-45:  Moore, Elwood S., B.A., M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.C.

1945-46:  Eadie, Thomas Wardrope, B.Sc.

1946:       Loudon, Thomas Richardson, B.A.Sc.

1946-47:  Publow, Cedric Franklin, B.A.Sc.

1947-48:  Agnew, George Harvey, M.B., M.D., F.A.C.P., F.A.C.H.A.

1948-49:  Bain, James Watson, B.A.Sc., LL.D., F.R.S.C.

1949-50:  Meen, B. Ben, M.A., Ph.D.

1950-51:  Barlow, Hon. Justice F.H., M.A.

1951-52:  Dickson, John S., B.A.

1952-53:  Murray, D. Bruce, B.A.

1953-54:  Lucas, G.H.W., B.A., Ph.D.

1954-55:  Fallis, A. Murray, Ph.D.

1955-56:  Fisher, Kenneth C., M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.C.

1956-57:  Dymond, John Richardson, B.A., M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.C.

1957-58:  Cosens, Gordon G. ,B.Sc.F., M.A.

1958-59:  Allan, Hon. George William

1958-59:  Jaquith, L.E., M.D., D.O.

1959-60:  Parks, Arthur E., B.A., M.D., F.R.C.P. (C), F.A.C.P.

1960-61:  Maclean, D.L., M.D., B.Sc., D.P.H.

1961-62:  Urquhart, R.W.I., M.A., M.D., LL.D.

1962-63:  Soper, James H., B.A., M.A., Ph.D.

1963-64:  Michell, Arthur S., C.D., B.Sc.F., M.F., R.P.F.

1964-65:  Hogg, Helen S., A.B., A.M., Ph.D., D.Sc., F.R.S.C.

1965-66:  Dauphinee,James A., O.B.E., M.A., M.D., Ph.D., F.R.C.P.(C), F.R.S.C.

1966-67:  Carter, A. Hiles, B.A., M.A., B.Paed.

1967-68:  Fisher, Albert M., M.A., Ph.D.

1968-69:  Sitzer, I. Kenneth, B.A.Sc., P.Eng.

1969-70:  Butler, Leonard, M.S.A., Ph.D.

1970-71:  Farmer, Colin S., M.A.

1971-72:  Russell, Loris S., B.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., LL.D., F.R.S.C.

1972-73:  Lord, G. Ross, B.A.Sc., S.M., Ph.D., P.Eng., D.Sc.

1973-74:  Mills, Ralph S., B.A., Q.C.

1974-75:  Gunn, Donald R., M.B.E., M.D., F.R.C.P.(C), F.A.P.A.

1975-76:  Lent, Elton, B.A.,M.A.

1976-77:  Barnes, Alfred S., B.Sc.F., R.P.F.

1977-78:  Macivor, Gordon S., B.A.Sc., P.Eng.

1978-79:  Page, C. Gordon

1979-80:  Fisher, Albert, M., M.A., Ph.D.

1980-81:  Macivor, Gordon S., B.A.Sc., P.Eng.

1981-82:  Hooper, Frank C., B.A.Sc., D.I.C., F.E.I.C., P.Eng.

1982-83:  Luste, George J., B.A., Ph.D.

1983-84:  Emery, Alan R., B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D.

1984-85:  Mudge, Graham, M.A.,C.A.

1985-86:  Percy, John R., B.Sc., M.A., Ph.D.

1986-87:  Thompson, Margaret W., B.A., Ph.D., C.M.

1987-88:  Sword, John H., M.A., LL.D.

1988-89:  McFadyen, John H., B.A.

1989-90:  Cinader, Bernhard, O.C., Ph.D., D.Sc., F.R.S.C., F.R.S.C. (UK)

1990-91:  Bruce-Robertson, Alan, M.D.

1991-92:  Heidenreich, Conrad E., M.A., Ph.D.

1992-93:  Prior, William R.C., Ph.D.

1993-94:  Garrison, Robert F., Ph.D.

1994-95:  Roots, Betty I., Ph.D., D.Sc., F.R.S.C.

1995-96:  Gordon Malkin, Dina, M.Sc., M.D.

1996-97:  Huta, Veronika, B.Sc.

1997-98:  Vanderkuur, George, B.Sc.

1998-2000:  Sekuler, Allison, Ph.D.

2000-02:  Davey, Kenneth G., O.C., Ph.D., F.R.S.C.

2002-04:  Phillips, M. Jane, B.A.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., P.Eng., F.C.I.C.

2004-06:  Victor, Peter A., B.Soc.Sc., Ph.D.

2006-08:  Smith, Michael, B.A., M.A.

2008-10:  Pearson, Roy Douglas

2010-12:  Gitelman, Bruce, B.Sc., M.B.A.

2012-14:  Pearlman, Ronald, B.Sc., Ph.D.

The original crest of the RCI was designed by Sandford Fleming in 1850. On the shield are some surveying instruments (engineering level, compass, theodolite) and drafting squares. Below is a tunnel with an emerging steam engine. These objects symbolize the early association of the Institute with professional surveyors, engineers and architects as well as the general mid-century faith in the applied sciences as determinants of social and economic progress. The words "Canadian Institute, Established 1849" were placed in a circle around the crest. Above the crest, in Fleming's words: "...we find as a crowning feature a female figure typifying science trimming the lamp of life.”