Skip to main content
Site title

President’s Sustainability Council


The Sustainability Council is an advisory body to the President with responsibility for providing input and recommendations on how to advance York University’s sustainability initiatives, projects, and practices and to provide oversight of the required actions from approved recommendations.It is also a mechanism through which to support and enable York students, faculty and staff to participate meaningfully in the planning and implementation of York University’s sustainability policies, initiatives, projects and practices.It serves to foster the integration of knowledge and issues about sustainability into research, education and application.

... Read More

The Sustainability Council operates in an atmosphere of collegial co-operation, where all participants respect each other’s participation through sharing of expertise, information and strategies.Specifically, the objectives of the Sustainability Council are to:

  • Develop a framework for understanding the different dimensions of sustainability as relevant to the university's campuses;
  • Conduct assessments of sustainability to establish common understandings and benchmarks in the context of the 2001 Report of the President's Task Force on Sustainability;
  • Provide a forum in which members may discuss sustainability challenges and opportunities to foster pan-university approaches to sustainability initiatives;
  • Identify and review current university sustainability practices and initiatives, and ascertain opportunities for synergies and engagement;;
  • Through a planning/prioritization process, identify and examine specific high priority issues and develop recommendations for the President to consider implementing;
  • Develop communication tools that promote and enhance awareness of sustainability activities and initiatives, including the work of the Council, throughout the entire York community; and
  • Produce an annual report on sustainability at York relative to the Councils' Activities.


The Sustainability Council meets at least quarterly throughout the year with subcommittees establishing their own meeting schedules.Please see meeting agendas and minutes below.

Membership List 2014 - 2015

Click to expand
Nicole Arsenault Manager, Transportation & Student Services
Noel Badiou Director, Centre for Human Rights
Anthony Barbisan Director, YU-Card & Food Services
Christopher Bentley Chair, Student Sub-Committee
TBC Director, IRIS
Idil Boran Associate Professor, Dept. of Philosophy
Gary Brewer Vice-President, Finance & Administration
Martin Bunch (Chair) Professor, Faculty of Environmental Studies
Richard Francki AVP - Campus Services and Business Operations
Bob Gagne Chief Information Officer
Ian Garrett Assistant Professor, Dept. of Theatre
Michaela Hynie

Associate Director, York Institute for Health Research, Associate Professor, Dept. of Psychology

Dimitra Markatas Committee Secretary
Ijade Maxwell Rodrigues Chief of Staff, Office of the President
Lucas McCann GSA Representative
Gayle McFadden York Federation of Students Representative
Ross McMillan Senior Advisor, Policy, Assessment and Aboriginal Affairs
Janet Morrison Vice-President Students
Yvette Munro Academic Programs & Planning Officer
Adam Patrick Student Representative
Pamela Persaud Manager, Temporary Use of University Space
Alice Pitt Vice-Provost Academic
Andrew Plunkett

Sustainability Coordinator,

Office of the President

Helen Psathas Senior Manager, Environmental Design
Lorna Schwartzentruber Manager, TD Community Engagement Centre
Noel Sturgeon Dean, Faculty of Environmental Studies
Laura Taylor

Dean's Representative,

Faculty of Environmental Studies

Michelle Uy Student Representative
Chris Wong Director, Transportation and Master Planning, YUDC
Carol Yorkden-Chamberlain Glendon College

Faculty member, LAPS

PSC Chair

Martin Bunch, Professor, Faculty of Environmental Studies

PSC Working Groups

Administrative and Organizational Structure Working Group
Co-Chairs: Ross McMillan, and Andrew Plunkett,

Curriculum Working Group
Chair: Alice Pitt,

Social Justice & Human Rights Working Group
Co-Chairs: Noel Badiou, and Lorna Schwartzentruber

Campus Operations & Development Working Group
Co-Chairs: Helen Psathas,, Nicole Arsenault, and Chris Wong,

PSC Meeting Agendas and Minutes








Facebook YouTube YFile E-Mail

Canada's Top Greenest