Participants

JAPANESE DELEGATION

Academics

Dr. Masashi Nishihara, President, National Defence Academy

- Dr. Toshiya Hoshino, Osaka University
- Dr. Yoshihide Soeya, Keio University
- Dr. Akiko Fukushima, National Institute for Research Advancement
- Dr. Naofumi Miyasaka, National Defence Academy

Officials

Mr. Yasumasa Nagamine, Deputy Director General, North American Affairs Bureau, MFA

Mr. Masahiko Horie, Director General for International Affairs, Japan Defence Agency

Mr. Toshiro Ozawa, Consul General, Vancouver

Mr. Masaya Fujiwara, Minister, Embassy of Japan, Ottawa

Mr. Hideo Suzuki, Senior Deputy Director, Policy Coordination Bureau, MFA

Mr. Jun Yamada, Canada Desk, First North America Division, MFA

Media Representative

Mr. Hisayoshi Ina, Editorialist, Nikkei Shimbun

CANADIAN DELEGATION

Academics

Dr. Brian Job, Director, Center of International Relations, Liu Institute, University of British Columbia

Dr. David Dewitt, Director, Centre for International and Security Studies, York University

Dr. Frank Langdon, Professor Emeritus, Centre of International Relations, UBC

Dr. Pierre Martin, Université de Montreal

Dr. David Mendeloff, Carleton University

Officials

Mr. Paul Meyer, Minister, Canadian Embassy, Tokyo
Captain(N) P.D. McFadden, Special Assistant - Director General International Security Policy; and Director Asia-Pacific Policy, Department of National Defence
Mr. Don Bobiash, Director, Southeast Asia Division, DFAIT
Mr. Peter Oldham, Public Diplomacy Program Manager, Centre for International Affairs
Learning and Management Development, DFAIT
Mr. James Boutilier, Special Advisor (Policy), Maritime Forces Pacific Headquarters,
Department of National Defence
Mr. Peter Bates, Deputy Director, International Crime and Terrorism, DFAIT
Ms. Wendy Gilmour, Deputy Director, Regional Security and Peacekeeping, DFAIT

Mr. Michael Walma, Deputy Director, North American and Euro-Atlantic Security and Defence Relations, DFAIT

Mr. Geoff Gartshore, Deputy Director, Peacebuilding and Human Security, DFAIT

Ms. Solveig Schuster, Senior Program Officer, Peacebuilding Unit, Canadian International Development Agency

Mr. Jim Nickel, Deputy Director, Japan Division, DFAIT

Mr. Glenn Robinson, Security and Intelligence Secretariat, Privy Council Office

Mr. Stéphane Jobin, Political Counsellor, Canadian Embassy, Tokyo

Mr. Ian Trites, Political Section, Canadian Embassy, Tokyo

Ms. Victoria Jull, Japan Division, DFAIT

Mr. Martin Laflamme, Japan Division, DFAIT

Media Representative

Mr. Jonathan Manthorpe, The Vancouver Sun