Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

Six York Faculty Members Elected to the Royal Society of Canada 

Six York Faculty Members Elected to the Royal Society of Canada 

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) has elected six York University faculty members as part of the Class of 2022. Recognition by the RSC is the highest honour an individual can achieve in the arts, social sciences and sciences. 

Celia Haig-Brown, Steven Hoffman, Linda Peake and Jianhong Wu were elected to the rank of Fellow, and Sandra Rehan and Sapna Sharma to the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. All were elected by their peers for their outstanding scholarly, scientific and artistic achievement. This highlights York’s commitment to driving positive change to right the future. 

“York University is delighted to see that Professors Haig-Brown, Hoffman, Peak, Rehan, Sharma and Wu have been recognized by the Royal Society of Canada for their outstanding achievements in education, health care, law, environment, and science,” said Amir Asif, vice-president research and innovation. “These exceptional researchers embody our vision to address complex societal challenges through transdisciplinary research and enhance our impact on the social, economic, culture and overall well-being of the communities we serve.” 

The newest appointees were inducted to the RSC in a ceremony held on Nov. 25 in Calgary, Alberta. A huge congratulations to all the inductees, we are thrilled and know you will continue to conduct purposeful research that advances knowledge and creates positive change. 

Read more about the six selected faculty members and outstanding achievements in their respective fields of study.