

Student Leadership Award Ceremony

March 19th, 2013

Presented by: Faculty of Health, Calumet College and Stong College

Messages from the Dean, Faculty of Health, and the Masters of Calumet and Stong College



Harvey Skinner, Dean Faculty of Health

As recipients of tonight's student leadership awards, you exemplify the commitment of the Faculty of Health, Calumet and Stong College to developing new student leaders who demonstrate excellence in so many endeavours. Congratulations and enjoy the evening knowing that your contributions have made a difference to the

broader York community.



David Leyton-Brown, Master Calumet College Student leadership involves more than simply holding a position. It means making a difference, and having a positive effect on the experience and lives of fellow students. This event is intended to recognize and honour an outstanding group of students who have made that sort of difference. In celebrating their past leadership, we are

confident that they will go forth from York as agents of change to continue to make a difference to the society in which they will live and work.



Martha Rogers, Master Stong College

Kouzes and Posner, author of the *Leadership Challenge*, have said "Somewhere, sometime, the leader within each of us may get the call to step forward". Tonight we are celebrating those students who heeded the call and stepped forward to accept the challenges put before them. You have demonstrated leadership skills in your roles

positively shaping and transforming the experiences of York University students. As leaders of today and tomorrow, you inspire all of us with your capabilities and commitment, and fill us with hope for the future. Take pride in your achievements. Congratulations.

Student Leadership Award Order of Ceremony

Welcome:	Lesley Beagrie, Associate Dean, Faculty of Health
Opening Ceremony:	Harvey Skinner, Dean, Faculty of Health
Stong College Awards:	Martha Rogers, Master, Stong College Agata Stypka, Research Associate, Faculty of Health Auroosa Kazmi, Coordintaor, HealthAid Network Missy Yeboah, Student Programs Lead and Research Assistant
Calumet College Awards:	David Leyton-Brown, Master, Calumet College
HealthAid Network Awards:	Martha Rogers, Master, Stong College Auroosa Kazmi, Coordintaor, HealthAid Network
Faculty of Health Student Caucus Awards:	Lesley Beagrie , Associate Dean, Faculty of Health Ayala Rubin , Chair FHSC
Guest Speaker:	Sue Vail , Associate Vice-President, Teaching & Learning
Closing Remarks:	Lesley Beagrie, Associate Dean, Faculty of Health

Student Leadership Award

HealthAid Awards:

Jenna Ulrich	HealthAid Leadership Award
Shalini Ramnarine	HealthAid Leadership Award
Connie Hui	HealthAid Team Spirit Award
N'ttendre Cox	HealthAid Team Spirit Award
Shalini Ramnarine	HealthAid Team Spirit Award

Stong College Student Leadership Awards

Danalyn Byng Licia Pellegrini Sacha Wilson Staz Guzar Valerie St-Denis Stong College Outstanding Student Employee Stong College Outstanding Student Leadership

Calumet College Student Leadership Awards

Janice AuCalumet Peer Advisor AwardMarco QuezadaCalumet Peer Advisor AwardChristine JooCalumet Peer Mentor AwardMatthew SinghCalumet Peer Mentor AwardAngelo RoseroCalumet Student Government AwardKayla PatulloCalumet Student Government AwardMichelle SoaresCalumet Themed House Award

Faculty of Health Student Caucus Awards

Aishat Agboluaje Ayala Rubin Karlo Azores Mohamed Sheksalah Shagana Logaratnam Sodiq Ishola Tofunmi Aniyi

Acknowledgement

Winners of the Stong Essay Prizes 2012

Eunice Hamilton Elizabeth Sabiston Prize for Excellence in Academic Writing

Shazma Abdulla Ernest Daniel Stong Essay Prize

Anastasia Boldireff Allen C. Koretsky Book Prize

Recognition Certificates

Abd-Al-Wahab Khawaja Allyson Harvey Faraz Honarparvar Mary Saad Sarah St. Pierre

Distinguished Leadership Certificate

Aishat Agboluaje Angelo Rosero Ayala Rubin Christine Joo Connie Hui Danalyn Byng Janice Au Jenna Ulrich Karlo Azores Kayla Patullo Licia Pellegrini Marco Quezada Matthew Singh Michelle Soares Mohamed Sheksalah N'ttendre Cox Sacha Wilson Shagana Logaratnam Shalini Ramnarine Sodiq Ishola Staz Guzar Tofunmi Aniyi Valerie St-Denis

Student Leadership Certificates

Aaron Clarke Afifa Mahboob Agatha Choy Ajavpal Dhillon Alessandro Perri Ali-Reza Sadri Amanda Calabretta Amanda Mohamed Amandah Opoku-Dapaah Amilia Kraicovic Andrea Chin Andrea Maill Andres Ramirez Restrepo Andrew Ogundele Ange Pagano Anna Dinnisuk Annelise Vintila Annie Hanson Anthony Chiaravalloti Arvin Jagayat Aryan Razmkhah Ashkan Ashraf Tabib

Ashley Estwick Ashlev Richardson Banafsheh Hosseini Brendan Montanera Brian Lam Carmen Umana Cassandra Preston Catarina Caverly Catherine Cenkowski Claudia Tran Corinne Barr Cristiane Cruz Cristina Piticco Cynthia Tseng Dalia Amrom Daniel Lewis David Haile-Meskale Derek Ang Di Huyen Dickson Lay Disha Jangra Edwin Leona Elizabeth Fung Eugene Aaron Fridman

Faraz Razzagh Farrah Abdel-Flatif Fatema Kara Felipe Matos Garima Iain Gavle McFadden Haeiun Lee Harry Dang Henry Madubuobi Hisham Shokr Humza Sved Mohammad Insivah Kaniee Isabella Edelshteyn Ishan Sharma Iaimal Laxman Jana Vigor leff Tyler Jesmilavathani Marusalin Jimmy Wong Ioanne Vann Jocelyn Donovan Johann Haslauer Johnny Luona

Josh Huestis Iulia Salzmann Iuliana Mattos Kailvn Crozier Kamala Rajasekaran Kathleen Resurreccion Kathrvn Savoie Kathy Do Katrina Hall Katrina McGuire Khadija Bint Misbah Kiara Price Kiersten McMaster **Kimberly Lawrence** Kirulus Fanous Klaudia Bednarczyk Krisandra Janowicz Krzysztof Banel Kujaany Kana Kyle Receno Larissa Panetta Lea Damata Madelaine McLaughlin Madalene Blakeson Mahvar Dibaii Manpreet Pandher Marina Zekrv Marvam Kara Matt Clarke Matthew Cheuk Matthew Dennis Matthew Dias Matthew Walsh Mavlani Sebastiampillai Meahan Reao Melissa Barber Melissa Carere Michael Burton Michael Davison Michael Elfassy Midila Anton

Mohamed Ali Monika Cule Mubasherow Shorno Mustafa Saved Muzamil Kukaswadia Myat Su Nwe (Jade) Ma Nadia Hyder Nessa Downey Nickan Motamedi Nikan Mostafaee Noam Bin-Noon Oxana Tsirelman Phoebe Cao Pooia Patel Pratik Nair Priscilla Luc Rae Smith Rafaella Polovynkina Ravdeep Badwal Renee Wilkinson Richa Sharma Rohan Vishwanath Roman Izquierdo Rosemary Yachouh Sabina Miller-Richards Sabine Rock Sahar Nourouzpour Samantha Fitzsimmons Sameena Anium Saori Fukuoka Sara Flemington Sara Tewfik Sarah Hanif Scott Dickie Scott Withers Sepideh Mohaieri Shaheem Abid Shahmir Khuwaia Shayan Ghashqhaei Shavan Shahsavar Sheida Azimi

Shokoufeh Yaseri Shweta Gautam Stavros Patouri Stephanie Hetz Stephen Lau Storm Milani Susan Milne Tanva Sagherian Taylor Soares Thaddeus Taylor Tiffany Chan Tristian Reid Trustin Bruner-Watson Tzippy Bernstein Victoria Kwong Viainthinv Paramananthan Vino Navarai Vivian Gomide Vivien Sona Wiselv Ho Xuebing Guo Yusuf Warda 7eehan Ali 7eenat Ladak Zova Morani

health YORK



Calumet College



Stong College