Skip Navigation

Canadian Society for the History and Philosophy of Science

Société canadienne d'histoire et de philosophie des sciences


CSHPS/SCHPS is a Canadian forum bringing together historians, philosophers, sociologists, and a wide range of interdisciplinary scholars interested in exploring all aspects of science, past and present. Its newsletter is the Communiqué and its annual conference takes place within the Congress of Social Sciences and Humanities.

Join CSHPS or Renew Your Membership

CSHPS membership is open to anyone with an interest in the history and philosophy of the sciences and costs CAN $40 per year ($25 for students and retirees).

1) Join or Renew Your Membership Online, or

2) Print out and complete the membership form, then send it to:

Dr. Paul Bartha
CSHPS Secretary-Treasurer
Department of Philosophy
University of British Columbia
1866 Main Mall, E-370
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1

Benefits of membership

  • Members receive Communiqué, which is the newsletter of the Canadian Society for the History and Philosophy of Science (CSHPS). The newsletter is published three times a year and provides CSHPS members with information about the activities of the Society and its members. Contributions are solicited from all members.
  • CSHPS members may also receive a copy of the Canadian Society for the History and Philosophy of Mathematics (CSHPM) Annual Proceedings for an additional cost of $10.
  • Elsevier is offering special discounted subscription rates for CSHPS Members. These prices are for personal subscriptions and represent a saving of between 40-50% or more on the standard personal price for each title.

Officers and Committees of the Society

President: Alan Richardson (University of British Columbia) to 2022
First Vice-President: Tara Abraham (University of Guelph) to 2022
Second Vice-President: Marga Vicedo (University of Toronto) to 2022
Secretary-Treasurer: Paul Bartha (University of British Columbia) to 2023

Ernst Hamm (York University) to 2022

Advisory Board
François Claveau (Université de Sherbrooke) to 2023
Vivien Hamilton (Harvey Mudd College) to 2021
Andrew Ede (University of Alberta) to 2021
Andrew Reynolds (Cape Breton University) to 2021
Agnes Bolinska (University of Cambridge) to 2022
Erich Weidenhammer (University of Toronto) to 2022

Programme Committee
Tudor Baetu (Université de Trois-Rivières) to 2021
Molly Kao (Université de Montréal) to 2021 (2nd term)
Blair Stein (Clarkson University) to 2021

Local Arrangements
Ingo Brigandt (University of Alberta) to 2021

Nominating Committee
Victoria Lee (Ohio University) to 2023
Pierre-Olivier Méthot (Université Laval) to 2021 (2nd term)

Communiqué Editors
Jaipreet Virdi (University of Delaware) to 2023 (2nd term)
Ghyslain Bolduc (Collège Édouard-Montpetit) to 2023

Social Media Coordinator
Andrew Nairn (University of Toronto) to 2021

Website/Listserv Manager
Allan Olley (Independent Scholar) to 2023 (2nd term)

Other information for members

Membership Directory (PDF)

CSHPS/SCHPS Constitution (PDF)En|Fr

The Richard Hadden Award is presented for best student paper at the CSHPS Annual Meeting.



More announcements, conferences, calls for papers, and job postings   >>>

Join or Renew Membership Online