Chromatic Channels

The chromatic channel has has two major branches. Both of these involve subtractive mechanisms. 1. Long wavelength sensitive (L) minus middle wavelength sensitive (M) cone receptors. 2. Short wavelength sensitive (S) minus L+M cone receptors.

This chromatic channel is also referred to as the spectrally opponent channel. Its neural pathway is through the parvocellular layers of the lateral geniculate nucleus (LGN)

Color Vision Model
Color Menu
Table of Contents
Subject Index
Table of Contents [When not using frames]