

YORK UNIVERSITY Faculty of Graduate Studies

REPORT of the Nominating Committee

Election Report

May 2023

Faculty of Graduate Studies' faculty members are elected to serve on Standing Committees for two-year terms commencing July 1. The Vice-Chair of Council serves for one year and in the subsequent year assumes the Chair. Senate representatives serve three-year terms.

STANDING COMMITTEES: FACULTY MEMBERS

Chair of Council and Academic Planning & Policy Committee (1 faculty member: 1 acclaimed) (1st Thursday October through June, 3:00 p.m.; 2nd Wednesday, 9:30 a.m. to noon)

Markus Reisenleitner (Graduate Programs in Cinema & Media Studies, Communication & Culture, Film and Humanities)

Vice-Chair of Council and Academic Planning & Policy Committee (1 faculty member: 1 to be elected) (1st Thursday October through June, 3:00 p.m.; 2nd Wednesday, 9:30 a.m. to noon)

No nominees

Academic Planning & Policy Committee (4 faculty members: 4 continuing) (2nd Wednesday, 9:30 a.m. to noon) *No vacancies*

Continuing members 2023-2024 Nombuso Dlamini (Education) Brad Meisner (Kinesiology & Health Science) Marcela Porporato (Management Practice) Jeannie Samuel (Development Studies)

Appeals & Academic Honesty Committee (3 faculty members: 1 continuing, 2 vacancies, 2 to be elected) (meets at

the call of the chair)

Nominees 2023-2025

Shobna Nijhawan (Humanities)

Arik Senderovich (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science and Information Systems & Technology) Mike Zabrocki (Mathematics & Statistics)

Continuing member 2023-2024

Anne F. MacLennan (Communication & Culture and History)

Awards Committee (6 faculty members: 5 continuing, 1 vacancy, 1 to be elected) (3rd Friday, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.)

Nominees 2023-2025

James Corcoran (Interdisciplinary Studies and Linguistics & Applied Linguistics)

Omosalewa O. Olawoye-Mann (Development Studies)

Isha Sharma (Management Practice)

Continuing members 2023-2024

Angela Norwood (Design and Interdisciplinary Studies)

Mohamed Sesay (Critical Disability Studies, Development Studies, Socio-Legal Studies)

Chun Peng (Biology)

Trevor Vandenboer (Chemistry)

Ingrid Veninger (Film)

Petitions Committee (4 faculty members: 2 continuing, 2 vacancies, 2 to be elected) (4th Friday, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.)

Nominees 2023-2025

Allyson Lunny (Humanities and Socio-Legal Studies)

Pasha Malla (English)

Saeed Moradian (Nursing)

Continuing members 2023-2024

Mojgan Amaneh Jadidi Markdaheh (Earth & Space Science)

Laura Wiseman (Education and Humanities)

SENATE REPRESENTATIVES

Senate Executive Committee's Subcommittee on Honorary Degrees and Ceremonials (meets at the call of the Chair)

FGS Senate representative (1 faculty member: 1 continuing)

Continuing 2022-2025

Melanie Cao (Administration PhD and Finance)

Senate Academic Standards, Curriculum & Policy Committee (Every other Wednesday, 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.)

FGS Senate representative (Dean or designate) (1 faculty member: 1 continuing)

Continuing 2022-2025

Cheryl Van Daalen-Smith (Gender, Feminist & Women's Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies and Nursing)

Senate Academic Planning, Policy and Research Committee (Thursdays, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.)

FGS Senate representative (Dean or designate) (1 faculty member: 1 continuing)

Continuing 2023-2025

Saskia Van Viegen (Linguistics & Applied Linguistics)

Senate Executive Committee (Tuesdays, 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.)

FGS Senate representative (1 faculty member: 1 vacancy)

No nominees