

YORK UNIVERSITY Faculty of Graduate Studies

REPORT of the Nominating Committee

Election Report and Update

October 2023

Faculty of Graduate Studies' faculty members are elected to serve on Standing Committees for two-year terms commencing July 1. The Vice-Chair of Council serves for one year and in the subsequent year assumes the Chair, also for one year. Senate representatives serve three-year terms. All are members of Faculty Council.

STANDING COMMITTEES: FACULTY MEMBERS

Chair of Council and Academic Planning & Policy Committee (1 faculty member) (1st Thursday October through June, 3:00 p.m.; 2nd Wednesday, 9:30 a.m. to noon)

Markus Reisenleitner (Graduate Programs in Cinema & Media Studies, Communication & Culture, Film and Humanities)

Vice-Chair of Council and Academic Planning & Policy Committee (1 faculty member) (1st Thursday October through June, 3:00 p.m.; 2nd Wednesday, 9:30 a.m. to noon) Vacant

Academic Planning & Policy Committee (4 faculty members) (2nd Wednesday, 9:30 a.m. to noon)

Continuing members 2023-2024

Nombuso Dlamini (Education)

Brad Meisner (Kinesiology & Health Science)

Marcela Porporato (Financial Accountability and Management Practice)

Jeannie Samuel (Development Studies)

Appeals & Academic Honesty Committee (3 faculty members) (meets at the call of the chair)

Continuing member 2023-2024

Anne F. MacLennan (Communication & Culture and History)

New members 2023-2025

Shobna Nijhawan (Humanities)

Mike Zabrocki (Mathematics & Statistics)

Awards Committee (6 faculty members) (3rd Friday, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.)

Continuing members 2023-2024

Angela Norwood (Design and Interdisciplinary Studies)

Chun Peng (Biology)

Mohamed Sesay (Critical Disability Studies, Development Studies and Socio-Legal Studies)

Trevor Vandenboer (Chemistry)

New members 2023-2025

James Corcoran (Interdisciplinary Studies and Linguistics & Applied Linguistics)

Isha Sharma (Management Practice)

Petitions Committee (4 faculty members) (4th Friday, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.)

Continuing members 2023-2024

Mojgan Amaneh Jadidi Markdaheh (Earth & Space Science)

Laura Wiseman (Education and Humanities)

New members 2023-2025

Allyson Lunny (Humanities and Socio-Legal Studies)

Saeed Moradian (Nursing)

FACULTY MEMBER SENATE REPRESENTATIVES

Senate Executive Committee's Subcommittee on Honorary Degrees and Ceremonials (meets at the call of the Chair)

FGS Senate representative (1 faculty member)

Continuing 2022-2025

Melanie Cao (Administration PhD and Finance)

Senate Academic Standards, Curriculum & Policy Committee (Every other Wednesday, 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.)

FGS Senate representative (Dean or designate) (1 faculty member)

Continuing 2022-2025

Cheryl Van Daalen-Smith (Gender, Feminist & Women's Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies and Nursing)

Senate Academic Planning, Policy and Research Committee (Thursdays, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.)

FGS Senate representative (Dean or designate) (1 faculty member)

Continuing 2023-2025

Saskia Van Viegen (Linguistics & Applied Linguistics)

Senate Executive Committee (Tuesdays, 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.)

FGS Senate representative (1 faculty member)

Vacant

GRADUATE STUDENT MEMBERS OF FACULTY COUNCIL (EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 2023)

Graduate Student Chief Councillors (10 graduate students)

Graduate Students At-Large (11 graduate students in 2023-24)

New members 2023-24

Creative Arts Area

Jaime Babb

Laura Grier

Omar Shabbar

Health Studies/Sciences Research Area

Nickiesha Blake

Philip James Piluris

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Area

Melik Nasar

Abdullah Tauqeer

Professional Degrees Area

Arvind Babajee

Jeremy Stephen Ofwono

Social Sciences/Humanities Research Area

Reiss Kruger

Carlos Eduardo Pérez Márquez

Graduate Students' Association President (1 graduate student)

Alireza Gorgani

STANDING COMMITTEES: GRADUATE STUDENT MEMBERS (EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 2023)

Also members of Faculty Council. Master's students serve one-year terms; doctoral students serve two-year terms.

Academic Planning & Policy Committee (2 graduate students) (2nd Wednesday, 9:30 a.m. to noon)

2024-25

Vedanth Govi

2023-24

Shahzab Hussain

Appeals & Academic Honesty Committee (1 graduate student) (meets at the call of the chair)

2023-25

Lisa Seiler

Awards Committee (2 graduate students) (3rd Friday, 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.)

2023-24

Christine Rose Cooling

2023-25

Alyssa Anne Di Bartolomeo

Petitions Committee (2 graduate students) (4th Friday, 1:00 to 3:00 p.m.)

2023-25

Julianna Kowlessar

2023-24

Stephanie Sansone

GRADUATE STUDENT SENATORS (3 graduate students)

Elected by the Graduate Students' Assocation. Not members of Faculty Council.