

PRESIDENT'S KUDOS REPORT

OCTOBER 2017



INNOVATION.CA

York researchers received more than \$3M from the Canada Foundation for Innovation, the single largest award the University has received from the CFI. The infrastructure for this work will be aligned with a Canada First Research Excellence Fund grant for the Vision: Science to Applications program, which supports research across a wide range of applications of vision science, including basic visual function, computer vision, and object recognition.

York alumna and internet personality Lilly Singh (BA '10) was named one of *Time's* 2017 Next Generation Leaders for her efforts to empower young women.



York University was named a finalist in the Innovation category of the Markham Board of Trade's 2017 Business Excellence Awards.



The Lions football team claimed its first Argo Cup since 2012 with a victory over the rival Toronto Varsity Blues in the 48th annual Red & Blue Bowl at Alumni Field.



Four exceptional individuals were recognized with honorary degrees at Fall Convocation:

- Ronald Mock, business leader
- Angela Robertson, public servant, social justice advocate
- Rudy Bratty, lawyer, developer, philanthropist
- Vincent Tao, global educator, innovator, entrepreneur







Forbes magazine ranked Schulich first in Canada and eighth in the world among two-year MBA programs outside the US. Schulich was also ranked fourth in the world among all two-year MBA programs in terms of the length of time it takes graduates to recoup their investment in an MBA degree.



Osgoode alumnus Jagmeet Singh (LLB '05) was elected leader of the federal New Democratic Party.



In honour of the Invictus Games, York announced the York University Service Award, which will provide up to \$20,000 over four years to a York student with a disability who has either served in the Armed Forces or is the child of a member of the Armed Forces.



First year student Paco Lui won the Skills Ontario Scholarship Award after receiving a Bronze medal in the Skills Ontario Competition, the largest skilled trade and technology competition in Canada.



Four professors from the Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies were elected to the Royal Society of Canada:

- Richard C. Hoffman, History
- David McNab, Equity Studies
- Marcel Martel, History
- Lesley A. Jacobs, Social Science



The Faculty of Science received a gift of \$500,000 from the Carswell Family Foundation toward a new, one-metre custom telescope. The observatory has been renamed the Allan I. Carswell Astronomical Observatory in honour of his contributions to the University.



Syrus Marcus Ware, a PhD student and Vanier Scholar, won the TD Arts Diversity Award, which celebrates a community-engaged artist who is making a significant contribution in Toronto.



Doctoral student Jessica Rumboldt won the Lieutenant Governor's Visionaries Prize in the Reconciliation category for her ideas on the over-representation of Indigenous female offenders in the criminal justice system.



Faculty of Health Dean Paul MacDonald and Psychology Professor Joel Katz were inducted as fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.



Founder of York's Critical Disability Studies Program, Professor Marcia Rioux was named the recipient of the Apolinario Mabini Memorial Award for her work in social justice and advancing global disability rights.



Department of Humanities Chair Dr. Andrea Davis received the Renaissance Award at the Afroglobal Television Excellence Awards for her dedication to promoting "positive consciousness in society."



Professor Naomi Norquay was awarded the Hugh Taylor Prize for her article *An Accidental Archive of the Old Durham Road: Reclaiming a Black Pioneer Settlement* in Archivaria, The Journal of the Association of Canadian Archivists.



The Faculty of Environmental Studies launched its first full Semester Abroad program at York's EcoCampus in Las Nubes Forest Reserve in Costa Rica, attracting 53 students from across six York Faculties.



Glendon Professor Willem Maas has been awarded a five-year Insight Grant by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council to pursue a research project on Canadian citizenship laws and policies.



The Lassonde School of Engineering and the Centre for Human Rights, Equity and Inclusion collaborated to develop the Inclusion Lens, an online tool created to increase inclusion and accessibility for the University's nearly 500 orientation week campus events.



Glendon student Emily Leahy received a prestigious Killam Fellowship from Fulbright Canada that will fund a semester-long exchange to Arizona State University.



Physics and Astronomy PhD student Elder Pinzon Guerra was awarded a Postdoctoral Fellowship for Research in Japan by the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science.















Twelve York graduate students earned awards for research in Asia and Asian Diaspora from the York Centre for Asian Research:

- Meghna George, Social Anthropology •
- Amardeep Kaur, Geography
- Conely de Leon, Gender, Feminist, and Women's Studies
- Thrmiga Sathiyamoorthy, Interdisciplinary Studies •
- Mohammad Hasan, Osgoode Hall Law School
- Sangyoo Lee, Social Work (Not pictured)
- Rupinder Minhas, Geography •
- Kimberly Roberts, Geography
- Robin Verrall, Political Science
- Sarah Allen, Geography
- Jill Fulton, Social Anthropology •
- Kyle Gibson, Environmental Studies



Lassonde alumna Catherine Tsouvaltsidis received the Northern Lights Aero Foundation's 2017 Engineering Award for her contributions to the field of space engineering and for laying the groundwork for other women to excel in the industry.



Professor Avis Devine of Schulich was awarded the 2017 Nick Tyrell Research Prize for a paper she co-authored on the effects of sustainable real estate investment.



Schulich and Deloitte announced plans to create the Deloitte Cognitive Analytics and Visualization Lab to foster advances in the visualization and interpretation of big data analytics.



The Faculty of Graduate Studies honoured Professor Pat Armstrong with the Faculty's inaugural Postdoctoral Supervisor of the Year Award, recognizing her exemplary support for postdoctoral scholars at the University.



Kate Allen, reporter at the Toronto Star, and Matt McGrath, environment correspondent at the BBC, have been selected as the inaugural York Science Communicators in Residence. The program aims to recognize outstanding science journalists and to promote excellence in science-related communications.



Lassonde PhD student John Aggrey won best presentation award at the Institute of Navigation's ION GNSS+2017 conference, the world's largest conference on Global Navigation Satellite Systems.



Four outstanding York University alumni were the recipients of the Bryden Alumni Awards, which celebrate University alumni who have made remarkable contributions to their fields, communities and to the University:

- Colleen Johnston (BBA '82)
- Rudy Buttignol (BFA '82)
- Abdullah Merei (BA Sc '09, MBA '15)
- J. Mark Lievonen, (BBA '79, MBA '87, LLD [Hon.] '15)



The Lions women's tennis team won the silver medal at the Ontario University Athletics (OUA) championships for the third straight year.

APPOINTMENTS



Alumnus Nigel Lockyer (BSc Spec. Hons. '75) has been reappointed director of the U.S. Department of Energy's Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory.



Professor Mary Condon will be appointed Interim Dean of Osgoode Hall Law School, following the departure of Dean Lorne Sossin in April 2018.



Professor Abidin Kusno was appointed director of the York Centre for Asian Research, which is committed to analyzing the experiences of Asian communities in Canada and around the world