

PRESIDENT'S KUDOS REPORT

NOVEMBER 2017



GREENEST SCHOOLS

Corporate Knights ranked Schulich's MBA program #2 in the world for responsible business in their 2017 Better World MBA Ranking issue.



Financial and Business Economics student Kevin Chau made history as the first entrepreneur to make a deal with all six investors on the CBC television show Dragons Den. Summary Scanner, the innovative mobile app he pitched, reduces reading time by summarizing key points of text from a picture.



The Lions field hockey team won the Ontario University Athletics championship for the first time since 1996, and were also U SPORTS silver medalists.



Professor John E. Moores and four other researchers in his Planetary Volatiles Laboratory at Lassonde received NASA's Group Achievement Award for their contributions to the Mars Science Laboratory's (popularly known as Curiosity Rover) first extended mission. This will be the twelfth time in the past six years that researchers from the Laboratory have won the Group Achievement Award.







Students and alumni from the Department of History were recognized at the 2017 Heritage Toronto Awards:

- PhD graduate Jay Young won the Short Publications Award.
- PhD graduate Daniel Ross was nominated for the Short Publications Award.
- MA student Morgan Cameron Ross was nominated for the Public History Award.



The Lions men's soccer team defeated the Carleton Ravens to win their fourth Ontario University Athletics banner in five seasons.



Osgoode Professor and lawyer Faisal Kutty was awarded the Platinum Award of Excellence for community service & leadership at the 2017 Muslim Awards for Excellence Gala.





























- Michael Brown, Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
- · Marcus Brubaker, Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
- Suprakash Datta, Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
- · Manos Papangelis, Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
- · William Colgan, Department of Earth and Space Science & Engineering
- Mojgan Jadidi Mardkheh, Department of Earth and Space Science & Engineering
- Jinjun Shan, Department of Earth and Space Science & Engineering
- Jian-Guo Wang, Department of Earth and Space Science & Engineering
- · Hossein Kassiri, Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
- · Usman Khan, Department of Civil Engineering
- · Dan Palermo, Department of Civil Engineering
- Alidad Amirfazli, Department of Mechanical Engineering
- · Paul O'Brien, Department of Mechanical Engineering







Faculty of Science Professors Wendy Taylor and Thilo Womelsdorf, as well as Social Science Professor Les Jacobs, are among the researchers who are recipients of a Canada Foundation for Innovation investment of more than \$554 million.



Lassonde Master's student Everett Snieder and his team won the Water Environment Federation's 2017 Design Competition for their redesign of Toronto's Exhibition Place using low-impact development techniques.



History Professor Edward Jones-Imhotep received the prestigious 2017 Abbot Payson Usher Prize from the Society for the History of Technology for his article on pianist Glenn Gould's use of recording media.



First-year student and Lions field hockey player Jaslan Stirling was named Co-Most Valuable Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year by Ontario University Athletics.



Lassonde Professor Costas Armenakis was awarded the Canadian Institute of Geomatics' 2017 Geomatica Award for his exceptional contributions to the advancement of geomatics in Canada.



Faculty of Education Professor Deborah Britzman was featured in the Distinguished Visitor Lecture series at the University of Alberta.





Professors Emeriti Judith Nagata and Penny Van Esterik were honoured at the 33rd Biennial Canadian Council for Southeast Asian Studies for their contributions to the field.



Alumna Megan Leslie (BA '99) has been appointed the first female president of World Wildlife Fund Canada.



Professor Ruth Koleszar-Green has been appointed the inaugural special advisor to the president on Indigenous initiatives.



York University and Fermilab announced an agreement to jointly appoint a research scientist who will participate in the Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment.