Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

Annual General Meeting

Each year, YURA holds an annual meeting of its members. While this is a constitutional requirement of our Association, the event has normally provided an opportunity for members to listen to a dynamic, sometimes provocative speaker; engage in a period of questions and answers with the speaker; enjoy a lunch with former York co-workers and colleagues; and participate in a business meeting of the Association.

The business of the AGM generally includes:

• Minutes of the previous year's meeting
• Report of the Nominating Committee and affirmation of officers
• YURA finances
• York pension information
• Retiree benefits information
• Activities and events sponsored by YURA
• Student awards sponsored by YURA
• Other matters relevant to York University retirees


Click here for the report, to view the event video and for all materials related to the most recent AGM.

2022 YURA Annual General Meeting will be held Friday, October 28 at 11 a.m.

Details once known will be posted on this web page.

Recent AGM Guest Speakers

Photo of Dr. Brian Goldman, 2021 AGM guest speaker
2021 AGM guest speaker, Dr. Brian Goldman, veteran ER physician and an award-winning medical reporter.
Photo of Royson James, guest speaker at the 2020 AGM
2020 AGM guest speaker, Royson James, retired Toronto Star reporter and columnist
Photo of Anna Porter, guest speaker at the 2019 AGM
2019 AGM guest speaker, Anna Porter, writer, publisher and founder of Key Porter Books. Photo courtesy Doug Forster
Photo of Doug Sanders, 2018 AGM guest speaker
2018 AGM guest speaker, Doug Sanders, author and Globe and Mail International Affairs columnist.
Photo of Audrey Macklin, 2017 AGM guest speaker
2017 AGM guest speaker, Audrey Macklin, legal scholar, author and director of the Centre for Criminology & Sociolegal Studies at U. of T.
Image of David Crombie, 2016 AGM guest speaker
2016 AGM guest speaker, David Crombie, politician, professor and consultant; former Mayor of Toronto and federal MP.