Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Scholarly Planning Committee

Scholarly Planning Committee

The Scholarly Planning Committee leads the planning and carries out the implementation of Congress 2023. It is made up of academic leaders from across scholarly disciplines represented at Congress and includes two graduate students.

Responsibilities will primarily consist of, but are not limited to:

  • Discussing themes for Congress 2023 and making recommendations on theme within the university and to the Federation of the Humanities and Social Sciences;
  • Providing input to the Federation on the Big Thinking events to take place throughout Congress 2023;
  • Supporting broad consultation with York community members and groups, including the Indigenous Council, the President’s Advisory Council on EDI, the President’s Sustainability Council, Organized Research Units, and other individuals and groups within the institution; and
  • Advising the Academic Convenor in supporting Program Chairs for scholarly associations that are part of Congress, which involves leading planning activities for the annual event.

Committee Members

Andrea Davis, Academic Convenor, Congress 2023

Provost & Vice-President Academic
Lisa Philipps, Provost & Vice-President Academic

Associate Vice-President Research
Jennifer Hyndman, Associate Vice-President Research

Indigenous Council Representative
Deborah McGregor, Associate Professor, and CRC Indigenous Environmental Justice, Faculty of Environmental & Urban Change and Osgoode Hall Law School

President's Advisory Council on Black Inclusion Representative
Paul Lawrie, Associate Professor, Department of History, LA&PS

Faculty Representatives
Elaine Coburn, Associate Professor, Department of International Studies, Glendon College
Ruth Green, Undergraduate Program Director and Associate Professor, School of Social Work, LA&PS
Jack Leong, Associate Dean, Research & Open Scholarship, Office of the Dean of Libraries
Joel Ong, Assistant Professor and Director of Sensorium, Department of Computational Arts, AMPD
Zachary Spicer, Associate Professor, School of Public Policy & Administration, LA&PS

Graduate Student Representatives
Veronica Prince, Masters student, Osgoode Hall Law School
Alex Williams, PhD candidate, AMPD

Project Manager
Liz McMahan, Director, Congress 2023