IP Bloggers Win Gowlings IPilogue Prizes

IP Bloggers Win Gowlings IPilogue Prizes

Giuseppina D’Agostino is the Founder and Director of IP Osgoode, and an Associate Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School.

The Gowlings Best Blog in IP Law and Technology Prize (the “Gowlings IPilogue Prize”) was pioneered in my Intellectual Property class in the Fall 2007 term and has been generously sponsored each year since then by Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP.

Four prizes in total are awarded each year to full-time Osgoode Hall Law School students. In each academic semester, there is one prize for the best post and one prize for the best comment.  The winning blog posts are featured in the IPilogue. Recipients also receive a $500 award, are announced at Convocation and receive a permanent notation on their official Osgoode transcript.

All entries to the IPilogue submitted by Osgoode students are considered automatically for the prize.  (All, except those submitted by IPilogue Editors.)

For students, this is a chance to recognize their research and writing in a specialized and technical field.  It also encourages law students with a strong interest in IP law and technology to develop that interest.  Of course, the subject matter of the IPilogue goes beyond strictly IP.  Our stories also delve into related areas of internet law, privacy rights, e-commerce and social media.

We are pleased to announce this year’s winners of the Gowlings IPilogue Prizes:

Fall 2010

Best Post: Tiffany Wong (Senatorial Pursuit: A Canadian Perspective on the U.S. Reid-Angle Copyright Litigations)

Winter 2011

Best Post (tie): Adam Heckman (Australia’s Federal Court rules ISPs must help prevent Copyright Infringement)

Best Post (tie): Clara Klein (Cloud-Based Content and TPMs: the Cloud’s Part in the Next Incarnation of Copyright Reform)

Best Comment: Rita Gao (Response to “Trade-Off: Privacy and Facebook Application”)

Congratulations to our winners and thank you to all who make the IPilogue possible.  We are most grateful to Gowlings for its generous support.