Announcing the Winners of the 2011 Canada’s IP Writing Challenge

Announcing the Winners of the 2011 Canada’s IP Writing Challenge

Professor Giuseppina D’Agostino is the Founder and Director of IP Osgoode. Michel Gérin is the Executive Director of the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada.

IP Osgoode and the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada (IPIC) are thrilled to announce the winners of the third annual edition of Canada’s IP Writing Challenge:

  1. In the Law Student category, Robert Mysicka won for his entry: “Exclusion versus Control: The Competition Dimensions of Intellectual Property Rights”. The author graduated from Queen’s University Faculty of Law and is currently articling at Stikeman Elliott LLP in Ottawa.
  2. In the Professional category, Erin Engelhardt won for her entry: “The Difference between Discovery and Invention in Biomolecules and Biologicals”. The author practices in the area of patents at Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP in Ottawa.
  3. In the Graduate Student category, the judges did not select a winner for this year’s Challenge.

We were pleased to receive submissions from across the country on a wide range of subjects, including: entertainment law, fairy tales, Internet governance, parody, philosophy, the public interest, trade-mark, and traditional knowledge.

The winners will be receiving a prize of $1,000 and, in addition to having their articles showcased here on the IPilogue, the articles will be considered for publication in the Canadian Intellectual Property Review (CIPR) and the Intellectual Property Journal (IPJ).

We would like to thank our esteemed intellectual property experts who served as judges for the Challenge:

We look forward to next year’s IP Writing Challenge and continuing to help ignite a more vibrant public policy discussion on all facets of intellectual property law and technology.