Getting attention

We are proud of the world-class research and teaching that our inclusive, collaborative approach brings to our communities, and we are recognized nationally and internationally for it.

The Economist magazine ranked the Schulich School of Business Best MBA Program in Canada in its annual survey of the world’s top 100 MBA programs. Schulich also placed 48th overall globally, and 12th in the world among non-U.S. schools, finishing ahead of Cambridge and Oxford. In the survey, Schulich ranked first in the world in the category of Internationalism of Alumni, and second in the world in the category of Recruiter Diversity, the number of industries represented by recruiters who hire Schulich graduates.

The Economist also ranked the Kellogg-Schulich Executive MBA ninth in the world, and the best in Canada, in its EMBA ranking. The Kellogg-Schulich Executive MBA program has consistently been rated among the top 10 in the world by the Economist.

York University established a scholarship fund in honour of Schulich School of Business Dean Dezsö J. Horváth, and will rename the Schulich Executive Learning Centre after him. The honours are in recognition of Horváth’s retirement after 32 years as dean of the school. Under his leadership, Schulich increased its focus on global business; developed a campus in Hyderabad, India; and opened six satellite centres around the world. It also grew in national and international rankings. Horváth himself was frequently honoured, including being named one of the 180 most important Torontonians of all time.

Four York University researchers received President’s Awards for their commitment to the university’s mission and vision to advance academic and research for the benefit of all, and helping to establish York among the country’s leading research-intensive universities.

The winners were:

  • Christopher Perry (Faculty of Health), President’s Emerging Research Leadership Award 2020
  • Theodore Noseworthy (Schulich School of Business), President’s Emerging Research Leadership Award 2019
  • Debra Pepler (Faculty of Health), President’s Research Impact Award 2020
  • Eric Hessels (Faculty of Science), President’s Research Excellence (PREA) Award 2020

Professor Robert Myers, from the Department of Philosophy in the Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies, has been honoured with a University Professorship.

The title is conferred on long-serving tenured faculty members who have made extraordinary contributions to the university scholarship and community as colleagues, teachers and scholars. Professor Myers teaching and research interests include theoretical ethics, related issues in epistemology and philosophy of action and political philosophy.

Three professors were elected as Fellows by the Royal Society of Canada, and three were elected members to the College of New Scholars, Artists & Scientists.

The three elected Fellows are: Patrick Cavanagh, Glendon; Jonathan Edmondson, Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies; and Anna Hudson, School of the Arts, Media, Performance & Design (AMPD).

The three elected members to the College are: Rebecca Pillai Riddell, Faculty of Health; Marlis Schweitzer, AMPD; and Zheng Hong (George) Zhu, Lassonde School of Engineering.

The Royal Society of Canada elects Fellows based on their work and leadership in their academic or artistic fields. Members of the College are selected for demonstrating excellence within 15 years of starting their academic careers.

Lisa Myers, assistant professor in the Faculty of Environmental and Urban Change, was named Artist Prize Finalist at the Toronto Friends of the Visual Arts’ 2020 Awards. Myers is a member of the Beausoleil First Nation and has a keen interest in inter-disciplinary collaboration, drawing from her experiences as an educator, curator, writer, musician and chef. FEUC alumna and artist Anique Jordan took top honours in the awards as the recipient of the 2020 TFVA’s Artist Prize.

York University received more than $4.7 million in funding from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) as part of the 2019-20 SSHRC Insight Grant competition.

The funds will be dispersed among 29 researchers at York, and will support projects that focus on understanding individuals and societies, and establish deeper knowledge of social, cultural, economic, environmental and technological issues.

Lisette Canton, associate professor and head of choral music, and the Ottawa Bach Choir received a 2020 Juno Award for Classical Album of the Year (Vocal or Choral) for their recording Handel: Dixit Dominus; Bach & Schütz: Motetson the ATMA Classique label. The choir includes several Music at York alumni: Kayla Ruiz, Nicole Malcolm, Athen Babayan, Kristen De Marchi, Allen Mahabir, and John Holland. Kayla Ruiz (BFA 2017) is a featured soloist on the album.

Anna St. Onge received the James J. Talman award from the Archives Association of Ontario for “innovative work in bringing archival theories and methodologies to digital scholarship and for her continuing efforts to put challenging ideas and beliefs into action.” She is the fourth York-affiliated archivist to receive the Talman award since its inception in 1991.