Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Uranus



Uranus is named after the Greek god of the sky: Ouranos

Uranus is the only planet whose moons are not named after characters from Greek and Roman mythology; instead, they are named after characters from the plays of William Shakespeare and Alexander Pope

Uranus has 27 moons, the 5 largest of which are Miranda, Ariel, Umbriel, Titania, and Oberon

Uranus was discovered by William Herschel in 1781

The atmosphere of Uranus is composed of 83% Hydrogen and 15% Helium with small amounts of water, ammonia, methane, and other hydrocarbons. Astronomers prefer to label it is an ice giant rather than a gas giant.Uranus has three layers: a rocky core, an icy mantle, and an outer gaseous layer.