Skip to main content
War Crimes and Refugee Status Research Workshop

About the Participants

Presenters | Other Participants | Additional York University Participants


Presenters: Judges or Academics
Prof. David Dewitt

Associate Vice-President Research and Innovation, Social Science and Humanities, York University

Justice Prof. Dr. Harald Dörig

Supreme Federal Administrative Court of Germany, Honorary Professor of the Friedrich-Schiller University Jena

Dr. Geoff Gilbert

Professor, School of Law, University of Essex, Wivenhoe Park, United Kingdom

Prof. Guy Goodwin-Gill

Senior Research Fellow, All Souls College, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom

Prof. Kate Jastram Faculty of Law, University of California at Berkeley

Dr. Susan McGrath

Director, Centre for Refugee Studies, York University
Joseph Rikhof Senior Counsel/Avocat Conseil, Crimes against Humanity and War Crimes Section/Section des crimes contre l'humanité et des crimes de guerre, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Dr. James C. Simeon

Assistant Professor in the School of Public Policy and Administration, Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies and a Centre for Refugee Studies (CRS) Scholar at York University, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Kees (Cornelis) Wouters

Senior Refugee Law Advisor, Division of International Protection (DIP), UNHCR, Geneva, Switzerland

OTHER Participants

Prof. Sharryn Aiken

Associate Dean (Graduate Studies and Research) and Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario

Osamu Arakaki, Ph.D.

Professor of International Relations, Kansaigaidai University, Hirakata, Osaka, Japan

Dr. Sasha Baglay

Assistant Professor, Faculty of Criminology, Justice and Policy Studies, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, Oshawa, Ontario

Michael Barutciski

Associate Professor / Professeur agrégé, Director of Graduate Studies, Glendon School of Public and International Affairs, Directeur des études supérieures, École des affaires publiques et internationales de Glendon, York University

Susan Bibeau Director General, Immigration Division, Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
The Hon. Mr. Justice Nicholas Blake

President, Asylum and Immigration Chamber, Upper Tribunal, Field House, United Kingdom

Justice Ana M. Calzada

President, Supreme Court of Cosa Rica | Corte Suprema de Justicia San José, Costa Rica

Dr. Nergis Canefe

Associate Professor, Department of Political Science and School of Public Policy and Administration & Associate Director, Centre for Refugee Studies, York University

Justice Geoffrey Care

Chairman, EurAsylum Ltd., Advisory Board and the Founding President of the IARLJ, Shetland Islands, Scotland, United Kingdom

Susan Davis

Executive Vice-President, Canadian Council for Israel and Jewish Advocacy, Canada

Dr. Alice Edwards

Departmental Lecturer in International, Refugee and Human Rights Law, Refugee Studies Centre, Oxford Department of International Development (QEH), University of Oxford

Mary Teresa Glynn A/Manager, Canada Border Services Agency, Operations Training Support, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Brian Goodman

Chairperson, Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada

Dr. Ian Greene

Professor, School of Public Policy and Administration, York University

Dr. Elspeth Guild

Professor, European Migration Law, University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Barbara E. Harrell-Bond

OBE, Director, Refugee Programme, Fahamu, Networks for Social Justice, United Kingdom

The Hon. Justice Allan Lutfy

Chief Justice, Federal Court (Canada), Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

The Hon. Justice Markandey Katju

Supreme Court of India, Tilak Marg, India

Prof. Audrey Macklin

Faculty of Law, University of Toronto, Canada

Dr. Jane McAdam

Professor, Director of International Law Programs, Faculty of Law, Australia

Michele Millard

Coordinator, Centre for Refugee Studies, York University

Nico Mol Head of Division (Dividion 3.1), European Court of Human Rights, Council of Europe, France
Robert Neron Assistant Deputy Chairperson, Eastern Region, Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Judge President Bernard Ngoepe

Transvaal Division Court, High Court of the Republic of South Africa and Justice of the African Court of Human and People's Rights, Arusha, Tanzania

Justice Tony North

Immediate Past President of the International Association of Refugee Law Judges, Federal Court of Australia

Prof. Obiore Okafor

Osgoode Hall Law School, York University

Peter Showler

Director, The Refugee Forum, Human Rights Research and Education Centre, University of Ottawa

Manisha Thomas

Senior Policy Advisor, International Council of Voluntary Agencies (ICVA), Geneva, Switzerland

Prof. Dr. Boštjan Zalar

High Court Judge at the Administrative Court of the Republic of Slovenia and a Researcher at the University of Ljubljana

Additional York University Participants
Flavia Genovese Anthropology
Darri Gepilano Global Political Studies
(John) Yeong Joong Lee JD Candidate, Osgoode Hall Law School
Jonathan Tao-Yang Lee JD Candidate, Osgoode Hall Law School
Eric Leung

War Crimes and Refugee Status Research Workshop Coordinator

Yasmine Mathurin Political Science
Christian Ernest Rock English and Education
Nomusa Taylor-Dube Conference Coordinator
Samia Tecle International Development Studies
Irene Tumwebaze Graduate Studies, Osgoode Hall Law School