Welcome to French Studies!

Learn from the French language, literature and linguistics specialists at a truly bilingual campus. You’ll study and practise the language while discovering the diversity of francophone cultures. You’ll benefit from small classes and highly accomplished professors who come from all French-speaking regions of the world. You’ll find lots of ways to engage with French in this immersive environment: The on-campus theatre produces French plays, and the student newspaper and all student services are bilingual. You’ll have access to extensive French resources and technology-enhanced language learning tools. 

Learn about program details

Skills You'll Learn


  • Express yourself orally and in written form in the French language 
  • Appreciate francophone cultures, rich literary history through in-depth analysis of cultural works and authors from past to present 
  • Understand the workings of the French language. 
  • Develop a deep language awareness from studying language as an object of study through different angles (semantics, morphology, lexicology etc.) 
  • Understand how languages are learned 
  • Discover the history of the teaching of second/foreign languages from over the centuries up to nowadays 
  • Gain a more worldly life perspective, knowledge and experience through living and travelling in Quebec, France and Europe by participating in exchange programs, as well as meeting a diversity of cultures on campus 

Careers


As a French Studies graduate, you are well-equipped to become a highly adaptable worker. You can choose to pursue grad studies or obtain additional qualifications. Here are a few examples of possible career paths:  

  • French Language Teacher 
  • Translator 
  • Speech therapist 
  • Archivist 
  • Mediator 
  • Diplomatic service worker 
  • Public policy analyst 
  • Editor or journalist 
  • International business advisor  
  • UN representative 
  • Marketing consultant 

Visit the Career Centre for more career options in French Studies. 

Hands-On Experiences


Apply the skills, strategies, concepts and theories you’re studying to real world challenges. Engage in guided practical experiences in the classroom, workplace, community and abroad. These are some opportunities for French Studies students. 

  • Volunteer at La Semaine de la francophonie, a week of activities, presentations and workshops  
  • Consider an exchange in a Quebec university and abroad at a French-speaking university, such as Science Po and La Sorbonne in Paris 
  • Join a club, such as l’Association des Étudiants francophones et Francophiles de York  
  • Enrol in Civilisation du Québec ancien and participate in cultural activities in a summer course in Quebec City 
  • Volunteer at Peace by PEACE, a community driven program to teach elementary school students about positive social interactions

Admission Requirements


  • Ontario Secondary School Diploma or equivalent, with average* of mid-to-high 70s 
  • A minimum of six 4U or 4M courses, including 4U English (ENG4U) or FRA4U 
  • A combination of U and M courses; OACs are accepted 
  • Proficiency in English OR French  

*Average is calculated based on the top six 4U; 4M or DU courses 

Check out the full requirements

Student Supports & Programs

Get involved on campus and in the community to meet fellow students and boost your Glendon experience. 

Meet Your Professors

You’ll learn from and get to know friendly, high-profile professors, who are published experts and actively working in the field. 

Aimé Avolonto

York Hall 228
416-736-2100 x 88464
aavolonto@glendon.yorku.ca

Christine Besnard

York Hall 257
416-736-2100 x 88259
cbesnard@glendon.yorku.ca

Marie-Hélène Larochelle

York Hall 263
416-736-2100 x 88218
mlarochelle@glendon.yorku.ca

Swann Paradis

York Hall 231
416-736-2100 x 88236
sparadis@glendon.yorku.ca

Muriel Péguret

York Hall C136
416-736-2100 x 88242
mpeguret@glendon.yorku.ca

Marie-Christine Pioffet

York Hall 230
416-736-2100 x 66804
mpioffet@yorku.ca

Sylvie Rosienski-Pellerin

York Hall C129
416-736-2100 x 88447
rosienski@gl.yorku.ca

Yvette Szmidt

York Hall 216
416-736-2100 x 88214
yszmidt@yorku.ca

Aurélie Takam Taguemne

York Hall 259
416-736-2100 x 88328
atakam@glendon.yorku.ca

Jean-Pierre Thomas

York Hall 237
416-736-2100 x 88220
jpthomas@gl.yorku.ca

Gaëlle Vercollier

York Hall 135
416-736-2100 x 88364
gvercollier@glendon.yorku.ca

Chantal Abouchar Rodrigues

York Hall B208
carodrigues@glendon.yorku.ca

Anat Avitzur

York Hall 260 aavitzur@yorku.ca

Sylvie Dejy-Blakeley

York Hall 230
sdejy@glendon.yorku.ca

Marie-Elaine Bourgeois

York Hall 237
mbourgeois@gl.yorku.ca

Henriette Gezundhajt

York Hall 260 gezundha@yorku.ca

Juliette Lawson-Gnaba

York Hall B208
jlawson-gnaba@glendon.yorku.ca

Michel Guidigbi

York Hall 260
mguidigbi@glendon.yorku.ca

Nataliya Lenina

York Hall C135
nlenina4@yorku.ca

Elsa Michaël

Ross Building, N738 (Keele Campus)
emichael@yorku.ca

Roxaneh Naghshi

York Hall B208
rnaghshi@yorku.ca

Sylvie Rodrigue

Hilliard Residence D111
sylvierod@sympatico.ca

Lionel Tona

Hilliard Residence D111 lionel.tona@gmail.com

News & Events

Get involved on campus and in the community to meet fellow students and boost your Glendon experience. 

[tribe_events_list]

Latest News
Highlights
No items found
No items found

See all News

Apply Now!