Osgoode Hall Law School Places Second in Harold G. Fox Moot

Osgoode Hall Law School Places Second in Harold G. Fox Moot


IP Osgoode is proud to announce the success of Osgoode’s IP moot team in the 2010 Harold G. Fox Moot held this past weekend on February 19 and 20.  The moot is named in honour of the late Harold G. Fox, one of Canada’s leading intellectual property scholars and advocates. 

Osgoode’s contingent consisted of third-year students Melanie Larock and Joanna Vatavu and second-year students Nathan Fan, Stuart Freen and Alexander Gloor.

Joanna and Melanie finished in second place, making it to the finals and arguing before a distinguished panel of judges including Justice Louis LeBel (Supreme Court of Canada), Justice J. Edgar Sexton (Federal Court of Appeal), Justice Roger Hughes (Federal Court), Justice Eleanore Cronk (Ontario Court of Appeal), and His Honour Judge Michael Fysh, QC (Senior Circuit Judge of the Patents County Court, UK).

Nathan and Alexander made it to the semi-finals and were the winners of the Gordon F. Henderson Award for the Best Factum Writers.

The team was coached by Casey Chisick, Shane Hardy and Timothy Pinos from Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP as well as their faculty advisor, Professor Giuseppina D’Agostino.  In addition, the Honourable Madam Justice Karen Weiler ’67, ’74 (LLM) graciously volunteered her time to provide the students with advice on oral advocacy.  Professor Ikechi Mgbeoji and Rex Shoyama also assisted the team in preparing for the moot.

Congratulations to all of the award winners for the 2010 Harold G. Fox Moot:

Gordon F. Henderson Award, Best Factum Writers
Alexander Gloor and Nathan Fan
Osgoode Hall Law School

Don F. Sim Award, Best Oralist
Michael Bokhaut
University of Alberta

Harold G. Fox Cup, Best Mooting Team
Alain Laplume and Victoria Au
Queen’s University