Skip to main content Skip to local navigation


Welcome to the Caputo Lab @ YorkU

Recent Highlights

Latest News

December 2022 - Some exciting news to share from the lab; first off Chris' Canada Research Chair was renewed for another 5-year term and he was granted tenure and promoted at York. Secondly, kudos to Lucas for being awarded a Mitacs Globalink Research Award to undertake a 6-month exchange at the University of Innsbruck in Austria! Finally, both Lucas and Taylor gave fantastic presentations at the 53rd Inorganic Discussion Weekend at Brock University and Taylor was awarded a presentation prize for her work. Congrats everyone!

Fall 2022 - We say goodbye and a big thank you to Dr. Josh Gaffen and Lily Hoang as they leave the group. Wishing them all the best in their future endeavours! With departures, we also welcome several new faces to the team, Casey Lenart, Dr. Avik Bhattacharjee, Na-Yung Seoh, and Samantha Henneberry.

Also, congrats to Paul, Josh, and Thomas on our recent publication in the special issue of Canadian Journal of Chemistry honouring Dr. Suning Wang.

Spring 2022 – First off, many congrats to Nico for being awarded an NSERC PDF award, Lucas for receiving an NSERC PGS-D, and Taylor for winning the Michael Pollard Award. Congrats to Lily for successfully defending her CHEM4000 thesis, and we want to thank Angela for volunteering as a YSSA student over the last year, best of luck with everything! 

Keep an eye out for presentations from our lab this summer, Charley and Taylor will be presenting their work at the CCCE in Calgary this year. Chris participated in Science Meets Parliament as a delegate this spring, meeting with MPs and other Government Officials on Parliament Hill to discuss the importance of science.

Fall 2021 – It has been a hectic summer as lab operations begin to return to normal. First, a big congratulations to Amy for successfully defending her M.Sc. Thesis over the summer! We welcomed a number of new members to the team over the last few months. Three postdoctoral fellows have joined the team, Dr. Nico Bonanno from Brock University, Dr. Amandeep Brar from Texas Tech University, and Dr. Josh Gaffen has joined as a joint postdoctoral fellow between Chris and Dr. Thomas Baumgartner. Furthermore, Taylor Cosby joins us from Western University as a M.Sc. student, and Lily Hoang has started her CHEM4000 Thesis this fall.

Lucas’ paper on allenic phosphonium borate zwitterions was recently published in Chemical Communications. Chris co-wrote a book chapter with Dr. Meera Mehta from the University of Manchester on state-of-the-art Frustrated Lewis Pair Chemistry for Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry. Finally, our first collaborative paper with the VandenBoer lab was published in Analyst.

Contact Information