Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Committees » Tenure & Promotions Committee

Tenure & Promotions Committee

This committee liaises with Senate and programs to review all tenure and promotion candidates in LA&PS and maintain T&P standards across the faculty.

The Tenure and Promotions Committee will meet several times during the months November to June in three rotating panels. The Committee of the whole normally meets on Thursdays from 11:00 am - 1:00 pm.

The procedures of the Tenure and Promotions Committee are governed by the University’s Tenure and Promotions Policy, Criteria and Procedures document.

From section 6.4 of the rules and procedures of council, updated April 2021.

When constituted as the Tenure and Promotions Committee, the Committee shall: 

1. Liaise with the Senate Committee on Tenure and Promotions to confirm the list of tenure and/or promotion candidates scheduled for consideration, ensuring that timelines are adhered to and making regular reports to the Council on the disposition of files by category; 

2. Make recommendations to the appropriate bodies, as required, on Faculty and University policy concerning tenure and promotion;

3. Review and report to the Council on tenure and promotion activities; 

4. Review and provide oversight of unit Tenure and Promotion Standards when appropriate. 

When constituted as the Senate Review Committee, the Committee shall: 

1. Review applications for tenure and/or promotion and will divide into panels each augmented by two members from the Senate Tenure and Promotion Committee. The Senate Review Committee panels will review the recommendations of School/Department Adjudicating Committees to ensure that procedures set out have been followed and that the criteria used in the evaluation of files have been applied fairly and in accordance with University criteria. Senate Review Committees are constituted as sub-committees of the Senate Tenure and Promotion Committee.

2. Hear substantive appeals of denial of Advancement to Candidacy; 

All meetings of the Senate Review Committees shall be restricted to the members of the panel unless candidates whose files are being considered and/or their representative request to appear before it. Deliberations of the panel when reviewing candidate files shall be in camera. 

  • 15 faculty members elected at-large, all of whom shall have tenure, normally at least three of whom are professors or senior lecturers for a three-year term.
  • Six students appointed by the Student Council of the Liberal Arts & Professional Studies (SCOLAPS) on an annual basis.
  • Ex-officio (non-voting) members include: Dean or dean’s designate, Chair of Faculty Council or designate and Secretary of Council or designate.

Faculty members will be elected at-large for a three-year rolling cycle. Normally, no more than 2 members elected at-large will be from the same School/Department. Each year, half of the membership turns over and will be replaced on a rotational basis by other faculty members from different Schools/Departments who are not already represented on the Committee. At all times there shall be at least one member from the professional, humanities, and social sciences Departments/Schools.

The Faculty Committee will elect a Chair from among its members for a two-year term. The Committee of the Whole will meet at least twice per year. At least half of the voting members of the Committee constitutes a quorum.

Senate Review Committee Membership: 

Panels will consist of at least five faculty members, two representatives from the Senate Committee on Tenure and Promotions, and normally two students. Normally, there shall be at least one member from the professional, humanities, and social sciences Departments/Schools on the panel.

Panel quorum is three elected at-large faculty members plus the two representatives from the Senate Committee. When quorum cannot be met, membership for one panel may be supplemented by members of another panel. Each panel shall select its own Chair from among its tenured faculty members. The Secretary of Council or designate will be the ex-officio member.

2020-2021 Members

Faculty Committee

Chair: Anne MacLennan, Department of Communication Studies

Molly Ladd-Taylor, Department of History
Steven Bailey, Department of Humanities
Alicia Turner, Department of Humanities
Mustafa Karakul, School of Administrative Studies
Marina Erechtchoukova, School of Information Technology
Mateusz Brzozowski, Department of Economics
Pilar Carbonell, School of Administrative Studies
Miriam Smith, Department of Social Sciences
Athanasios (Sakis) Gekas, Department of History
Chandan Narayan, Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Maria Dodman, Department of Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
Brenda Visano, Department of Economics
Denielle Elliott, Department of Social Science
Mary Ducharme, School of Human Resource Management

Representatives from SCOLAPS

Katherine Martins
Asadullah Sindher
Nahiyan Adrita
Britney-Ann Charlton Lewis
Marissa Clarke

Ex-Officio Members (non-voting)

David Mutimer, Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
Andrea McKenzie, Chair of Faculty Council
Lisa Lutwak, Secretary of Council

Quick Links

Upcoming Meetings

Nov 04

Tenure and Promotion Committee

November 4 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm
Feb 03

Tenure and Promotion Committee

3 February 2022 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm
Mar 03

Tenure and Promotion Committee

3 March 2022 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm
Mar 31

Tenure and Promotion Committee

31 March 2022 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm
Jun 02

Tenure and Promotion Committee

2 June 2022 @ 11:00 am - 1:00 pm