Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » LA&PS Senate Representation

LA&PS Senate Representation

As part of York University governance, elected LA&PS community members serve as LA&PS representatives on Senate. Our representatives and committees liaise with their colleagues on Senate to ensure fair, transparent and effective governance of LA&PS and its fair representation across the University.

York Senate is responsible for the University’s academic policy. It oversees admission standards, sets the contents and curricula of all courses, establishes graduation requirements and confers degrees. There are up to 168 elected and ex-officio members of Senate who are representative of the University community. Senate carries out its business through committees which report to the Senate at regular meetings.

LA&PS Representatives Elected-at-Large (16)

Name Department/School Term End
Mustafa KarakulSchool of Administrative StudiesJune 30, 2023
Sirvan KarimiSchool of Public Policy and Administration June 30, 2025
Patrick PhillipsDepartment of PhilosophyJune 30, 2023
Leslie SandersDepartment of HumanitiesJune 30, 2025
Joanne E. Magee School of Administrative Studies June 30, 2025
Mehraneh EbrahimiDepartment of English June 30, 2025
Sheila EmbletonDepartment of Languages, Literatures and LinguisticsJune 30, 2025
Ruth GreenSchool of Social WorkJune 30, 2025
Gail VanstoneDepartment of HumanitiesJune 30, 2025
Carolyn SteeleDepartment of Humanities June 30, 2025
Peter KhaiterSchool of Information TechnologyJune 30, 2025
Ron OphirSchool of Administrative Studies June 30, 2024
Carl S. EhrlichDepartment of HistoryJune 30, 2025
Kim Michasiw Writing DepartmentJune 30, 2025
Marilyn Lambert-DracheDepartment of French StudiesJune 30, 2024
Marina G. Erechtchouvka School of Information Technology June 30, 2025

LA&PS Designated Members (21)

School and Department Chairs/Directors (20) & Dean (1)

J.J. McMurtryDean
Nelson WaweruSchool of Administrative Studies
Othon Alexandrakis Department of Anthropology
Ganaele LangloisDepartment of Communication and Media Studies
Wai-Ming HoDepartment of Economics
Tina ChoiDepartment of English
Awalou OuedraogoDepartment of Equity Studies
Janusz PrzychodzenDepartment of French Studies
Frances LatchfordSchool of Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies
Stephen BrookeDepartment of History
Elicia ClementsDepartment of Humanities
Marie-Hélène BudworthSchool of Human Resource Management
Enamul Hoque PrinceSchool of Information Technology
MJ DodmanDepartment of Languages, Literatures & Linguistics
Michael GiudiceDepartment of Philosophy
Karen MurrayDepartment of Politics
Alena KimakovaSchool of Public Policy & Administration
Amanda GlasbeekDepartment of Social Science
Chris ChapmanSchool of Social Work
Mark P. Thomas Department of Sociology
Andrea McKenzieDepartment of Writing

Student Representatives (6)

NameTerm End

LA&PS Representatives on Senate Committees (3)

Name Senate Committee Department/SchoolTerm End
Leslie SandersAPPRCDepartment of HumanitiesJune 30, 2023
Mustafa KarakulExecutiveSchool of Administrative StudiesJune 30, 2023
Yvonne SuHonorary DegreesDepartment of Social ScienceJune 30, 2024