Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Equity, Diversity, Inclusion Committee

Equity, Diversity, Inclusion Committee

The CIFAL-York Equity, Diversity, Inclusion (EDI) Committee is composed of academics, community and industry professionals to provide advisorship to advance, support and elevate understanding, capacity and the application of diversity, equity & inclusion within the work of the UNITAR CIFAL.

The Committee works to 1. ensure that EDI is central and integrated into the ethos of CIFAL York in partnership with UNITAR and York Region and 2. To advance conversations that arise from the intersections of academia, community and industry for impactful knowledge share, and actionable change towards the UNSDGs.

Committee Members

Idil Boran (Chair)

Associate Professor Philosophy; Associate Director CIFAL York, York University

Julia Satov (Co-Chair and Strategic EDI Advisor)

Global Director of Diversity and Inclusion at Litera

Ali Asgary (ex officio)

Director, CIFAL York, York University

Emily Rowe

Senior Manager, Social Enterprise, Blue Door

Joseph Smith

TDSB Vice Principal

Mathias de Dovitiis

TDSB Trustee, Ward 4, Humber River - Black Creek

Nick J. Mulé

School of Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies, LA&PS, York University

Lee Truong

Public Health Nurse, Durham Region