Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

Two Osgoode Hall Law School professors receive prestigious fellowships

Two Osgoode Hall Law School professors receive prestigious fellowships

Osgoode Hall Law School Professors Craig Scott and Stepan Wood have each been awarded prestigious fellowships at European institutions.

Scott, who is the director of Osgoode’s Jack & Mae Nathanson Centre on Transnational Human Rights, Crime & Security, has been awarded a 2010 Ikerbasque Fellowship by the Bacsque Foundation for Sience. The foundation is a granting agency established by the Government of the Basque Country in Spain in 2008 with the mission to consolidate the Basque Country as “a European point of reference for excellence in the field of research.”

Left: Craig Scott

The fellowship will support 12 months of personal research and collaboration with the Transnational Law Research Group of the University of Deusto in Bilbao, Spain. Scott will build on his existing scholarship pertaining to the civil liability aspects of corporate social responsibility in relation to human rights and environmental protection, as well as interact with Deusto’s Trans-Law Research Group to widen the scope of the group’s study of economic law.

Right: Stepan Wood

Wood, who is the coordinator of Osgoode's Juris Doctor-Master in Environmental Studies Joint Program and director of the Moot Court Program, has been awarded a Jean Monnet Fellowship at the Robert Schumann Centre for Advanced Studies at the European University Institute (EUI) in Florence, Italy. Wood will complete a project titled “ISO 26000 and the Legitimation of Transnational Governance Authority in the Field of Corporate Social Responsibility” during his sabbatical next year.

Wood is the fifth Osgoode faculty member to have been chosen as a Jean Monnet Fellow at EUI, following Professors Michael Mandel, Craig Scott, Peer Zumbansen and Robert Wai.

Republished courtesy of YFile – York University’s daily e-bulletin.