Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Awards and Past Winners

Awards and Past Winners

Our department offers a variety of awards for undergraduate students. The awards listed below that are labelled with [$]) come with a monetary prize, funded through an endowment. The amount varies from year to year, but in recent years, the money awarded has been about $800-$2000. There is no application procedure for the awards listed below. The recipients are chosen by the Department on merit.

For other possible awards see award search.

Ray and Joe Abramson Award: for an entering student with extracurricular involvement in a math-related club or activity; or an outstanding first year student. This award is a bursary.

[$] George & Frances Denzel Award for Excellence in Statistics: to a 4th year or graduate level student in statistics, who is judged to be academically deserving. This award is a bursary.

[$] Linda Herskowitz Award: to an undergraduate student, majoring in Mathematics and/or Statistics, who has a minimum cumulative grade point average of B with community service. Preference will be given to a female student. This award is a bursary.

[$] Abe Karrass/Donald Solitar Mathematics Award: for an outstanding student majoring in Mathematics with plans to teach mathematics. Note: the recipient need not be in a math education program. This award is a bursary.

Irvine R. Pounder Award: to the student judged to be the best in each year level.

[$] Moshe Shimrat Prize: for demonstrated ability in mathematical problem-solving.

[$] Alice Turner Award: to outstanding Mathematics students who are third-year and fourth-year degree candidates.

[$] George R. & Mary L. Wallace Award: to an outstanding student in the Actuarial Science, Operation Research and Applied Mathematics.

[$] Emerson Vincent Sauder Award: to an outstanding undergraduate student majoring in mathematics or statistics.

Past Winners

2023-2024      Rita Maria Khater

2022-2023      Taiye Hilary Estwick, Rachel Victoria Gaspar

2021-2022      Xavier Stephen Mootoo, Anika Tahirah Peter, Solomon Shaevitch

2018-2019      Maria Mehmood

2016-2017      Emilie Miranda, Jiyu Wang

2014-2015      Stanislav Ivanov Balchev, Bernardo Wiering De Barros Cardona, Emerson Vincent Sauder

2022-2023       Yilin Chen, Jiacheng Wang

2021-2022       My Luu

2019-2020       Gabriela Gonzalez Martinez

2018-2019       Kevin Terry Joseph

2015-2016       Rui Liang

2014-2015       Stephen David Lidderdale, Yanhua Tian

2022-2023        Sabrina Jacqueline Manseau Way

2021-2022        Ivy Adwoa Osei, Monica Marie Rando

2019-2020        Breanna Kaitlyn Charbonneau, Maria Mehmood

2016-2017        Vima Gail Villalba Biswas

2014-2015        Warnakula Ushieja Chathushkie De Zoysa Senaratne, Japjeet Kaur Toor

2013-2014        Krystina Rosemarie Armstrong-Caldera           

2022-2023       Olivia Grace Lunin, Denise Frances Munsayac, Thuvaaraga Ranjanathan, Joe Tran

2021-2022       Denise Frances Munsayac, Aminah Raza Khan, Alessia Veronica Trombetta

2019-2020       Hala Zain El D. Hassan

2018-2019       Taran Singh Nijjar

2017-2018       Megan Frances Ji-Sun Kim

2016-2017       Terrance Nicholas Troy

2014-2015       Nathan Gold, Maryem Abdel Masih Mesrop

2013-2014       Ninab Nissan, Shashi Amrit Ramkeesoon

2022-2023       Nicolas Andrews (1st year), Jiacan Sun (2nd year), Thi Hong Uyen Pham (3rd year), Noam Tobin (4th year)

2021- 2022      Joshua Levine (1st year), Olivia Lunin (2nd year), Jung Guo (3rd year), My Luu (4th year)

2017- 2018      Jiayi Li (1st year), Jiyu Wang (3rd year), Xiang Li (4th year)

2016- 2017       Jacob Karon (1st year), Jordan Teitelbaum (2nd year), Chi Zhang (3rd year), Stanislav Balchev (4th year)

2015- 2016       Megan Kim (1st year), Ling Lin (2nd year), Vadim Semenikhine (3rd year) Stanislav Balchev (4th year)

2014- 2015       Ziyin Guo (1st year), Zhe Li (2nd year), Stanislav Balchev (3rd year), Nathan Gold (4th year)

2013- 2014       Satchal Aminuddin (1st year), Justin Kim (2nd year), Japjeet Toor (3rd year), Pavel Shuldiner (4th year)

2022-2023       JeongJae Park, Tylar Nakina Rose Robin

2021-2022       Xavier Stephen Mootoo

2019-2020       Xiaoyu Bai

2018-2019       Jordan Matthew Teitelbaum

2016-2017       Stanislav Ivanov Balchev, Yixin Chen

2014-2015       Justin Kim

2013-2014       Mihai Alboiu

2022-2023    Ravish Kamath, Amy Ann Norris       

2021-2022    Jeffrey Robin Marshall-Milne, Matthew Wai-Hong Tsang    

2018-2019    Andi Qian, Jiyu Wang      

2016-2017    Stanislav Ivanov Balchev, Justin Kim      

2015-2016    Keegan Joseph Dasilva Barbosa        

2022-2023       Thi Hong Uyen Pham (Actuarial Science), Carl Foster (Actuarial Science), Noam Tobin (Operation Research),                                                                              Shahen Alexanian (Operation Research)

2021-2022       Emmanuella Sowah (Actuarial Science), Leonard Buglak (Actuarial Science), Rakan Omar (Operation Research),                                                                     Tamara Kostyuk (Applied Mathematics)

2019-2020       Guanfu Qiao (Actuarial Science), Gina Nicole Faraz Rabbah (Applied Mathematics)

2018-2019       Divya Chaturvedi (Actuarial Science), Jiyu Wang (Applied Mathematics)

2017-2018       Michael Meckler (Actuarial Science), Luqi Zhang ( Actuarial Science), Ling Lin (Operations Research)

2016-2017       Zach Axelrod (Actuarial Science), Vadim Semenikhine (Actuarial Science)

2014-2015       Tayla Ginszurg (Actuarial Mathematics ), Rasha Lawrence (Operations Research), Issac Bendel (Applied Mathematics ),                                                       Kosal Chhin (Applied Mathematics), Michael Gimelfarb (Actuarial Mathematics )

2022-2023        Jeffrey Robin Marshall-Milne

2021-2022        Kyoung Jae Seo

2019-2020        Jiayi Li

2018-2019        Ziqing Wang

2017-2018        Eitan Amos, Jiyu Wang, Ling Lin