Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

Call for an Adjudicator, Mary McEwan Memorial Award

Call for an Adjudicator, Mary McEwan Memorial Award

The Mary MacEwan award  is named in Honour of Dr. Mary McEwan, a feminist psychiatrist.

The annual award of $1000.00 is presented to one PhD dissertation produced each academic year at York University in the area of feminist scholarship.

The three-person adjudication committee serves a two year period and is responsible for review and selection, which includes writing a 1-3 paragraph rationale describing the qualities of the winning entry. The deadline for receiving the PhD theses for adjudication is Friday, December 8, 2023.

Please send your expression of interest to CFR Coordinator Mickel A. Allen at with:
- one paragraph statement of interest
- Curriculum Vitae

Submissions will be accepted until Thursday, November 30, 2023 at midnight.

This appointment is open to full time faculty and will be by guided by considerations of equity, particularly to promote representation along lines of gender, class, race, status, ability, gender and sexual orientation.