Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

Progression Requirements to Maintain Honours Standing

Progression Requirements to Maintain Honours Standing

Topic: Academic Standards, Grades, Conduct of Examinations
Approval Authority: Senate

Students whose cumulative grade point average (CGPA) falls below 5.0 during the course of their studies, may proceed in an Honours program, on warning, provided that they meet the minimum CGPA requirements as set out below:

Year Level Credit Range CGPA Requirements
Year 1 0 to 23 4.00
Year 2 24 to 53 4.25
Year 3 54 to 83 4.80
Year 4 84 5.00

This academic regulation does not apply to the following degree programs:

  • B.Ed
  • LLB/JD
  • BBA and iBBA
  • BScN
  • BComm
  • BHRM
  • BEng


1) This legislation does not impact Major GPA requirements.

2) Faculty to Faculty transfers into honours programs will occur according to the new CGPA requirements.

Legislative History: Approved by Senate: December 15, 2005; effective date April 3, 2006