Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Senate


The Senate is responsible for the University’s academic policy. Its broad powers include regulating standards for admission, determining the contents and curricula of all courses of study, establishing requirements for graduation, conducting examinations and appointing examiners, and conferring degrees. There are up to 169 elected and ex-officio members of Senate who are representative of the University community. Much of its business is carried out through committees which report to the Senate at regular meetings.

Labour Disruption Information


Senate meetings take place normally on the fourth Thursday of each month from 3:00 to 5:00 pm. The agendas and synopses for the current governance year, and for the past five years, are posted below.

Senate meetings may be held in-person, through video conferencing or a hybrid of the two modes. The Senate Executive Committee determines the mode of delivery for a meeting, with the option selected stated on the agenda. When Senate convenes in-person or has an in-person option, the meetings are held in the Dr. Robert Everett Senate Chamber, N940 Ross Building, Keele Campus. Virtual meetings are delivered through Zoom. Meetings of Senate held in-person or in hybrid mode are open to members of the University community to participate in-person, subject to the availability of physical space; these meetings will not be livestreamed. Meetings of Senate held exclusively in virtual mode will normally be restricted to Senators to ensure the integrity of voting. Virtual meetings will be livestreamed for members of the University community to observe the proceedings; the livestream link is posted on the Senate website in advance of the meeting.

Senate Meeting DatesMeeting Mode
September 2023
October 2023
November 2023
April 2024
June 2024
In-person in the Dr Robert Everett Senate Chamber, with accommodation provided for Senators needing to participate virtually.
December 2023  (if meeting needed)
January 2024
February 2024
March 2024
May 2024
Wholly virtual; with livestreaming of the meeting for the University community