Skip to main content Skip to local navigation



Home » Past Productions » 1988 Season

1988 Season

Season Staff:

Nancy Accinelli, Executive Producer
​Fredrick H. Thury, Artistic Director
Robert Kozinets, Assistant to the Producer
​Paul Brooker, Foreman

The Black Tulip

The Black Tulip

Feb. 3 - 6, 1988
Vanier College Hall

​Cornelius von Baerle, a respectable tulip-grower, lives only to cultivate the elusive black tulip and win a magnificent prize for its creation. But after his powerful godfather is assassinated, the unwitting Cornelius becomes caught up in deadly political intrigue and is falsely accused of high treason by a bitter rival. Condemned to life imprisonment, his only comfort is Rosa, the jailer's beautiful daughter, and together they concoct a plan to grow the black tulip in secret.

Adapted by Fredrick H. Thury from a book by Alexander Dumas

Directed by Fredrick H. Thury
Assistant Directed by Scott Garbe
Stage Managed by Beverley Colbear

Set Designed by Scott Garbe and Fredrick H. Thury
Lighting Designed by Malcolm R. Steane
Costume Designed by Kelly Wolf
Properties Designed by Peter James Gallacher
Music Assembled by Joanne Natale and Kevin Ross
Sound Directed by David Armstrong
​Makeup Designed by Kerry Richardson
Poster Designed by Jill Rabjohn
Associate Stage Managed by Paul Brooker, Vincent Kwan, Joanne Natale, and Michael Salfi
​Stage Manager Assisted by Colleen Sweeney
Photography by John Andraeson and Belinda Bruce

Amy Turcotte as Marta/Townsfolk
Bernard Leman as Boxtel/Townsfolk
Cameron Gourley as Cornelius DeWitte/Clerk
David A. Fuller as Van Baerle/Townsfolk
Darren Alexander as Craeke
Domenic Silipo as Royal Officer/Judge/Townsfolk 
Erich J. Shaw as William of Orange/Townsfolk
Joanne Natale as Townsfolk #3
Josie DiCaprio as Clerk #4/Townfolk #6
Katherine Gortnar as Townsfolk #8/ Soldier
Keith Cole as Tilly/Townsfolk
Kevin E. Ross as Tyckelaer/Van Herysen/Executioner/Townsfolk
Larry Shapiro as Jonathan DeWitte/Judge/Clerk/Townsfolk
Lynn Zeelenberg as Townsfolk #7/Soldier
Michael Salfi as Soldier/Lieutenant/Clerk
Sam Rosenthal as Gryphus
Scott Griffin as Townfolk #1/Magistrate/Clerk
Valerie Hall as Rosa
Walter Kermas as Townsfolk #5

Peter J. Gallacher, Bernard Leman, Erich J. Shaw, Kerry Richardson, Patience Mkhonza, Josie DiCaprio, Lisa Drago, Katherine Gortnar, Bonnie Harndon, Natalie Marconi, Kelly Wolf, Shannon Griffin, Jane McGregor, Yvette Munro, Joanne Natale, Kerry Richardson, Amy Turcotte, Joanne Silverstein, Rosie Venditti, Rochelle Wolper, Paul Brooker, Scott Garbe, Barb Brown, Colm McCool, Nadzir Kahn, Malcom R. Steane, Wendy Gunter, Robert Kozinets, Joe Leandres, Betty Witmer, Susan Carter, and Paul DeAngelis