Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

2021-2022 Robert J. Tiffin Student Leadership Award Recipient: BEd Student Zahra Mawani

2021-2022 Robert J. Tiffin Student Leadership Award Recipient: BEd Student Zahra Mawani

2021-2022 Robert J. Tiffin Student Leadership Award: BEd Student Recipient Zahra Mawani

The Robert Tiffin Student Leadership Awards recognize students whose leadership has contributed to the growth, development, and vitality of York University. Both undergraduate and graduate students who apply for awards are role models who exhibit leadership, dedication, integrity, enthusiasm, and the pursuit of excellence through their endeavours.

York University has named these awards after Robert Tiffin who served as York University’s Vice-President of Students for over 9 years. During this time, Rob transformed his operation into one of the country's most professional student service organizations, serving one of Canada’s largest student populations. This transformation required strong leadership, dedication, integrity and fairness. It is these qualities that have been chosen to recognize in student leaders.

BEd student and recipient Zahra Mawani's journey began at York University in 2020 when she was admitted to the Bachelor of Education program. "I never imagined that I would be completing the entire program online, nor did I anticipate the challenges that would come," says Mawani, "Little did I know, that being elected to the Faculty of Education Students’ Association’s (FESA) team would inevitably transform my and my peers’ learning experience."

"I am grateful for my journey thus far at York University, in representing students' voices and supporting students near and far," continues Mawani, "Despite the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic, a strong sense of community was built from a distance. I hope to continue serving the York University community by enhancing the learning experiences of all students."

"Zahra has excelled in all aspects of student life during her time at York, demonstrating leadership and active involvement on multiple committees and organizational bodies, both inside and outside of the university," says Chloë Brushwood Rose, Associate Professor in the Faculty of Education, who nominated Mawani for the award, "I can say without reservation that she has made significant contributions to the sense of community in both the Faculty of Education and the University."

As a recipient of the award, Zahra will receive a Robert J. Tiffin Student Leadership Award certificate and her name will be permanently added to the award display located in the Vari Hall Rotunda.

Zahra has also been accepted to the Faculty of Education's Master of Education (MEd) program at York University starting this Fall. Congratulations Zahra!