Home » External Advisory Committee

External Advisory Committee

The Markham Campus External Advisory Committee (MCEAC) provides an essential link between the University’s newest campus and the York Region community, fostering opportunities for communication, collaboration, and development of the York University Markham Campus (MC). Membership is comprised of corporate, not for profit and civic leaders who are selected by the President upon recommendation and serve for a two-year term. The Committee advises the President on matters related to academic programming; community engagement and partnership; opportunities for experiential learning and the integration of higher education into regional economic development planning.  

MCEAC Members 

  • Rhonda Lenton, President & Vice-Chancellor, York University  
  • Amir Asif, Vice-President Research and Innovation, York University  
  • Frank Attaie, General Manager – Technology, IBM Canada
  • Wayne Emmerson, Chair, Region of York   
  • Sai-Kit Eng, Director of Program Management, Qualcomm  
  • Ted Graham, Head of Open Innovation, General Motors  
  • Loretta Lam, York University Board of Governors 
  • Medhat Mahdy, President & Chief Executive Officer, YMCA of Greater Toronto 
  • Jack Maynard, VP Mechanical & Electrical, WSP   
  • Ijade Maxwell Rodrigues, Chief of Government and Community Relations & Protocol, York University  
  • Lisa Philipps, Provost, York University 
  • Eugene Pivato, Associate Director, York Catholic District School Board
  • Frank Scarpitti, Mayor, City of Markham  
  • Louise Sirisko, Director of Education, York Region District School Board  
  • Vivi White, Regional Vice-President, Royal Bank of Canada 
  • Al Wilson, Executive Director, Workforce Planning Board of York Region 
  • Laksh Vig, Stakeholder Engagement Coordinator, York University 
  • Daniele Zanotti, President & CEO, United Way Greater Toronto