Skip to main content Skip to local navigation



Home » Past Productions » 2016-2017 Season

2016-2017 Season

Season Staff:

Brian Goldenberg, Artistic Director/Producer
Dave Crawford, Associate Producer, Marketing & Alumni Affairs
Tom Kerr, Associate Producer, Director of Production
Theresa Noon-Hunter, Associate Producer, Human Resources & Production
Zaarin Bushra, Company Manager
Jessie Whyte, Production Manager
Leah Holah, Marketing & FOH Manager
Cassandra Popescu, Marketing & FOH Manager
Adam Bromley, Technical Director
Beth Ransom, Technical Director
Riley Pynn, Technical Director
Natasha Silvestre, Costumes & Props Manager
Kristen Freed, Show Choir Choreographer
Athena So, Show Choir Pianist

Clybourne Park

Clybourne Park

Nov. 25 - Dec. 4, 2016
Fred Thury Studio Theatre, 258 Vanier College

Written as a spin off to A Raisin in the Sun, Clybourne Park​ explodes in two outrageous acts set fifty years apart. Act One takes place in 1959, as white community leaders anxiously try to stop the sale of a home to a black family. Act Two is set in the same house in the present day, as the now predominantly African-American neighbourhood battles to hold its ground in the face of gentrification. Winner of the 2011 Pulitzer Prize and the 2012 Tony Award for Best Play.

By Bruce Norris

Directed by Beau Dixon
Stage Managed by Genevieve Lamb

Beatrice Campbell as Betsy/Lindsay
Danny Sylvan as Albert/Kevin
Joe Dickinson as Jim/Tom/Kenneth
Lauren Smethurst as Bev/Cathy
Mihai Branzan as Carl/Steve
Nicholas Sluyk as Russ/Dan 
Nkechinyem Rosemary Oduh as Francine/Lena

The Laramie Project

The Laramie Project

Jan. 20 - 29, 2017
Fred Thury Studio Theatre, 258 Vanier College

The Laramie Project is a play by Moisés Kaufman and members of the Tectonic Theater Project about the reaction to the 1998 murder of gay University of Wyoming student Matthew Shepard in Laramie, Wyoming.

By Moisés Kaufman

Directed by Dave Crawford
Stage Managed by Andrew Knott

Set Designed by Jenny Bukuroshi
Lighting Designed by Quanah Lawrence
Costume Designed by Ophelia Spinosa
Props Designed by Sara Fackrell
Composed/Sound Designed by Luc Gaylie
Projections Designed by Toni Kunic
Board Operated by Lauren Westbury and Courtney Binnie

Adam Garisto
Aisling Bird
Amer Chowdhury
Arina Imbirovski
Caitlin Brennan
Danny Morrison
Elizabeth Furlano
Genevieve Canavan
Hayley Pace
Kat Khan
Laith Hamid
Madeline Ius
Monica Prendergast
Nicholas Sluyk
Shae-lynn Applegate
Sharmaine Mehta
Sharmiya Santhabavan
Stephanie Simonetta
Toni Kunic
Zaarin Bushra

Little Women

Little Women

March 3 - 12, 2017
Fred Thury Studio Theatre, 258 Vanier College

Based on the novel by Louisa May Alcott, Little Women follows the adventures of sisters, Jo, Meg, Beth and Amy March. Jo is trying to sell her stories for publication, but the publishers are not interested. Her friend, Professor Bhaer, tells her that she has to do better and write more from herself. Begrudgingly taking this advice, Jo weaves the story of herself and her sisters and their experience growing up in Civil War America. This timeless, captivating story is brought to life in this glorious musical filled with personal discovery, heartache, hope and everlasting love. 

Book by Allan Knee
Music by Jason Howland
Lyrics by Mindi Dickstein

Directed by Theresa Noon-Hunter
Music Directed by Brian Goldenberg and Tom Kerr
Choreographed by Kristen Freed
Stage Managed by Max Chu 
Assistant Stage Managed by Shae-Lynn Applegate and Sharan Rai

Set Designed by Alex Norton
Lighting Designed by Andra Legault
Costume Designed by Robyn Barnes
Props Designed by Cassandra Troiano
Board Operated by Maddy Delle Donne and Quanah Lawrence
Photography by Leah Holah and Cassandra Popescu
Videography by Zaarin Bushra, Leah Holah, and Cassandra Popescu
Poster Designed by Leah Holah

AJ Caspillo as Braxton/Ensemble
Beatrice Campbell as Clarissa/Ensemble
Genevieve Lamb as Mrs. Kirk/Ensemble
Jacob Wilson as Mr. Brooke/Troll
Joe Dickinson as Mr. Lawrence/Knight
Lauren Westbury as Marmee
Matthew Sabido as Laurie
Natasha Silvestre as Meg March
Paulina Luciani as Beth March
Taryn Waldorf as Jo March
Tesla Spoar as Amy March
Trimaine Blake as Professor Bhaer
Valerie Cameron as Aunt March/Hag

Conductor/Keyboard 1 played by Brian Goldenberg
Keyboard played by Athena So
Trombone played by Jessie Whyte

Carrie Cooper, Daria Sarrafian, Genevieve Lamb, Isabella Sawdon Smelser, Joe Dickinson, Lauren Westbury, Laurence Dion-Hillyard, Paulina Luciani, Sara Fackrell, Tesla Spoar, Tiffany Joseph, and Vishwaveda Joshi

FOH Staff: Caren Meaney, Genevieve Lamb, Kathryn Geertsema, Katie Edwards, Lauren Smethurst, Natasha Jermias, and Tiana Kralj

Vanier Improv Company (VIC)

Vanier Improv Company (VIC)

OCT. 4, OCT. 25, NOV. 15, DEC. 6, JAN. 31, FEB. 14, MAR. 28

Directed by Sara D'Agostino
Assistant Directed by Nicole Hunter-Campbell
Stage Managed by Jessie Whyte

​Alex Osborne
Alexandra Anderson
Duane Taylor
Isaiah Wagner-Chazalon
Jimmy Zhao
Joe Dickinson
Larissa Dondapaty
Maryana Parfenyuk
Ryan Boulet
Sergio Ordonez
Soraya Aghbali
Tom Middleton

Show Choir

Show Choir

March 24 - 26, 2017
Fred Thury Studio Theatre, 258 Vanier College

York University’s own Vanier College Productions will be presenting its final performance of the season as Show Choir takes the stage this March. The VCP Show Choir will perform its annual concert March 24-26, 2017 with a mixture of Broadway showtunes and Top 40 hits. Selections will include songs from HamiltonKinky BootsA Chorus LineAmerican IdiotChicago and songs made famous by Justin Timberlake, Katy Perry, ‘NSync, David Bowie, Leonard Cohen, Queen, and Glass Tiger. 

Music Directed by Brian Goldenberg
Vocal Directed by Morgan Russell and Catherine Bernardi
Choreographed by Kristen Freed
Dance Captains – Edith Barabash, Ashley Hannah and Matthew Sabido
Stage Managed by Sara Fackrell
Assistant Stage Managed by Shae-lynn Applegate and Stephanie Simonetta

Lighting Designed by Andra Legault
Costume Designed by Natasha Silvestre
Photography by Leah Holah and Cassandra Popescu
Videography by Zaarin Bushra, Leah Holah, and Cassandra Popescu
Poster Designed by Leah Holah

Adam Khafagy
Ashley Hannah
Carrie Cooper
Chelsey Cons
Christian Patev
Clara Yazbek
Edith Barabash
Elizabeth Furlano
Jacob Wilson
Kendra-Phedeline Jaffary
Kritika Kad
Manisha Khan
Matthew Sabido
Nicole Mesec
Oyinda Daramola
Rebecca Watt
Sean Sydor
Sybil Chan
​Trimaine Blake

Conducted by Brian Goldenberg and Catherine Bernardi
Keyboard played by Athena So
Guitar played by Jeff Jones
Bass played by Brian Kruschel
Drums played by Bob Ben

FOH Staff:
​Andrew Knott, Caren Meaney, and Emma Houlahan