Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

Celebrating staff who are driving positive change

Nominations for the 2023 President's Staff Awards are now closed.

We have many outstanding staff at York who are committed to the University's success. The President's Staff Recognition Awards acknowledge the exceptional contributions they are making to support student success and academic excellence, strengthen our community engagement, and enhance York's local and global impact."

— President & Vice-Chancellor Rhonda L. Lenton

The Staff Recognition Awards recognize York University staff who have gone above and beyond to support student success, academic excellence, and community engagement, and to drive positive change both in our own community and more broadly.

Please visit each award page to determine which category is best suited for the community member you wish to nominate.

Learn more and submit a nomination:

The Deborah Hobson York Citizenship Award:

“The Deborah Hobson York Citizenship Award is awarded to an individual who emulates Vice- President Hobson’s energetic commitment to York students and boundless enthusiasm for the York community. Nominees for this award embody the York spirit, and use their creativity and imagination in support of the student community at York.”

The Excellence in Decolonization, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (DEDI) Award

"The award recognizes outstanding achievement in practice, events, policy, programs, or other activities that foster equitable, sustainable and measurable change on campus, with an intersectional social justice lens, especially for equity-deserving groups (e.g. women, visible/racialized minorities, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and 2SLGBTQIA+). The Award recognizes ongoing work or an outstanding accomplishment at a point in time."

The Gary Brewer Emerging Leader Award

“The award recognizes and encourages early-career professionals who have demonstrated significant promise of leadership in their career. The Award recognizes a staff member who has shown tremendous promise for assuming a leadership role at the University, is known for their innovative and meaningful contributions to the effectiveness of their unit and has significantly contributed to the University’s commitment to excellence.”

The Phyllis Clark Campus Service Award

“The award recognizes a York employee who has made outstanding contributions to the University in terms of efficiency, cleanliness, safety, security or other campus/plant services.”

The President’s Leadership Award

“The President’s Leadership Award recognizes excellence in service to York University. Individuals nominated for this award perform at a level that inspires professionalism, creativity and innovation across the University community”

Ronald Kent Medal

“The award’s namesake, Ronald Kent, had a unique personal commitment to the University showcased through years of dedicated service. His sincerity and enthusiasm inspired colleagues across the University. He was considered a true ambassador for York University.”

The Harriet Lewis Team Award for Service Excellence

“The Harriet Lewis Team Award for Service Excellence recognizes excellence in service and support to students, faculty, staff and/or other service users. One award will be given annually.”

Voice of York

“The most important “Voice of York” is the one who makes the first contact with a visitor or community member. The quality of responsiveness and the genuine desire to assist in the most difficult or sensitive situations is essential to York’s reputation. Nominees for the President’s Voice of York Award are employed as front-line staff and who have regular interaction with the York community.”

Nominations must be submitted by April 17, 2024