Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Experience » Seminar Series

Seminar Series

Follow our Seminar Series as we take a look at some of the most pressing intellectual and political questions of our day with guest scholars from around the globe. The Department of Politics is internationally recognized as one of the leading sites for the study of politics informed by a diverse range of critical intellectual approaches.

Fall 2022 Seminar Series

Watch for details on our upcoming Fall 2022 Seminar Series.

Past Series

Winter 2022 Seminar Series


Daniel Andrés López

Date: Friday, March 11, 2022
Time: 4:00 - 5:30 PM
Topic:
Lukács: Praxis and the Absolute


Julian Germann

Date: Friday, March 4, 2022
Time: 12:30 - 2:00 PM
Topic:
Unwitting Architect: German Primacy and the Origins of Neoliberalism


Katy Fox-Hodess

Date: Friday, February 11, 2022
Time: 12:30 - 2:00 PM
Topic:
 Dockworker Power and Capitalist Totality: A Critique of the Power Resources Approach


Liam Campling and Alejandro Colás in conversation with Jeffery R. Webber

Date: Friday, February 4, 2022
Time: 10:00 - 11:30 AM
Topic:
 Capitalism and the Sea: The Maritime Factor in the Making of the Modern World


Eli Friedman

Date: Friday, January 28, 2022
Time: 12:30 - 2:00 PM
Topic:
 The Urbanization of People: The Politics of Development, Labor Markets, and Schooling in the Chinese City


Blair Fix

Date: Friday, January 21, 2022
Time: 12:30 - 2:00 PM
Topic:
 Redistributing Income Through Hierarchy

Fall 2021 Seminar Series


Ángela Vergara

Date: Friday, November 26, 2021
Time: 12:30 - 2:00 PM
Topic:
 Fighting Unemployment in Twentieth-Century Chile


Christy Thornton

Date: Friday, November 5, 2021
Time: 12:30 - 2:00 PM
Topic:
 Revolution in Development: Mexico and the Governance of the Global Economy


Heather Berg

Date: Friday, October 29, 2021
Time: 12:30 - 2:00 PM
Topic:
 Porn Work: Sex, Labor, and Late Capitalism

Winter 2021 Seminar Series


Enzo Traverso

Date: Friday, April 9, 2021
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 "The Locomotives of History": Historicizing Revolution


Ali Rlza Güngen

Date: Friday, March 26, 2021
Time: 12:00 - 1:30 PM
Topic:
 Turkey's Public Banks amid the COVID-19 Pandemic: A Case of Authoritarian Crisis Management


Ashley Bohrer

Date: Monday, February 8, 2021
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 Beyond Flow: Capitalism, Confinement, and Captivity


Quinn Slobodian

Date: Monday, February 1, 2021
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 Elite Losers: Trump, Steel, and the Backlash Against Neoliberal Constitutionalism from Above


Adom Getachew

Date: Monday, January 18, 2021
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 Worldmaking After Empire: The Rise and Fall of Self-Determination


Aaron Jaffe

Date: Monday, January 11, 2021
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 The Theoretical Grounds and Entailments of Social Reproduction Theory

Fall 2020 Seminar Series


Athina Karatzogianni

Date: Monday, December 7, 2020
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 Sleeping on a Volcano: The Ideologization Process on Digital Networks


Sheri Berman

Date: Friday, December 4, 2020
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 The Decline of Social Democracy, the Rise of Populism and Democratic Decay


Anthony Farley

Date: Monday, November 9, 2020
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 Trump's Undead Americans


Robert Nichols

Date: Monday, November 2, 2020
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 Theft is Property! Dispossession and Critical Theory


Johanna Fernández

Date: Monday, October 26, 2020
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
 The Young Lords: A Radical History


Thea Riofrancos

Date: Monday, September 21, 2020
Time: 2:30 - 4:00 PM
Topic:
Resource Radicals: From Petro-Nationalism to Post-Extractivism in Ecuador