Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

York community members earn national, provincial honours

York community members earn national, provincial honours

Order of Canada insignia laid out on list of recipients

Seven members of the York University community are among the recently-announced Order of Canada and Order of Ontario recipients. The announcements were made on Dec. 28 and Jan. 1, respectively, by the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada and the Honourable Edith Dumont, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario. 

The Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario recognize the exceptional achievements and contributions of individuals that have left a lasting legacy in the province and country. These individuals come from all walks of life and have played an important role in shaping our country.

Order of Canada appointees 


Wenona Giles, faculty/professor emerita 

Wenona Giles, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, was appointed for her significant contributions to refugee and migration studies and for her efforts to increase access to higher education among those living in refugee camps. 


Patricia Sybil Pritchard Fraser, (BA ‘75, MA ’12), alumna

Patricia Sybil Pritchard Fraser, a retired artistic director of the School of Toronto Dance Theatre (now the Dance Arts Institute) was appointed for her lasting contributions to Canadian contemporary dance as an artist, dancer, educator and artistic director. 

Flavio Volpe (MBA ‘99), alumnus

Flavio Volpe, president of the Automotive Parts Manufacturers Association was appointed for advancing Canada’s automotive and technology industries on an international scale as a leading policy expert in national trade and industry competition. 

Sara Joy Angel, affiliated faculty 

Sara Joy Angel, a former journalist and now executive director and publisher at the Art Canada Institute, was appointed for her significant contributions to Canadian art history as a visual arts journalist and founder of the Art Canada Institute, which makes Canadian art history accessible online. 

Order of Ontario Appointees  

The Honourable David Collenette (BA ‘69, MA ‘04), alumnus, faculty, donor  

The Honourable David Collenette is the current Chair of the NATO Association of Canada. He has served as a Member of Parliament and cabinet minister under three prime ministers. Among his many achievements, he helped bring former Warsaw Pact nations into NATO, changed federal policy toward racial equality and diversity and led Canada’s security response to 9/11. He has also contributed countless hours to numerous not-for-profit projects, including the arts and as chair of the NATO Association of Canada. Collenette has also served on several Glendon Campus committees and has been a York University Alumni Award recipient. 

Michael Latner (BA ‘76), alumnus  

Michael Latner is the CEO of Shiplake Properties, one of the province’s most successful family-owned companies. He is recognized for his significant contributions to Ontario’s social and economic prosperity through business and philanthropy. As CEO, he has made transformational investments in local business, innovation and job creation.  

Dwayne Morgan (BA ‘97), alumnus 

Dwayne Morgan is a poet, spoken word artist, motivational speaker and founder of production company Up From The Roots which creates opportunities for other racialized artists. He lobbied the League of Canadian Poets to include performance poets, produced North America’s two largest spoken-word events and has performed globally. 

Gervan Fearon, former faculty, donor 

Gervan Fearon is currently president of George Brown College and previously served as the president and vice-chancellor at Brock University and Brandon University. He is a veteran educator who has a vision for equity, inclusion and community empowerment.  

For more information about the Order of Canada and Order of Ontario program, visit and