Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Experience » Awards and Prizes » University-wide Writing Prizes » Richard Teleky Short Fiction Prize

Richard Teleky Short Fiction Prize

The Richard Teleky Short Fiction Prize is awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student for a single, original, previously unpublished work of short fiction submitted as part of an annual competition. Jay Singer graduated with a bachelor's degree in English (Creative Writing) from York University in 1996. He also earned an MFA from New York University and an MBA from Fordham Gabelli School of Business.

This creative writing prize recognizes Jay's belief in the power of a Liberal Arts education. It also honours Jay's former York professor Richard Teleky, who encouraged his pursuit of creative writing. Jay is the former President and CEO of Discount Car and Truck Rentals. His eight-year tenure as President of Discount included his leadership through the critical first few months of the COVID-19 pandemic and the quick return of the company to profitability.

Competition Rules


This award is open to undergraduate and graduate students from any faculty or discipline.

Students will submit entries via a MachForm as part of the Creative Writing President's and LA&PS Dean's awards.

Submission Deadline

Submissions are accepted between mid-November and mid-January each year.

Deadline: Closed for 2023/2024

Application Requirements

Please do not include the author’s name in the submission itself; include it only in your online submission form. Submissions that include the author’s name on the manuscript will be disqualified.

No late submissions will be accepted. No paper submissions will be accepted.


This prize will be adjudicated by the Creative Writing Program. Two judges selected by the Creative Writing Coordinator will read all submissions and choose the winner as well as up to two honourable mentions. The Prize amount is $2,000.

Past Winners

Winner - Lillian Scriven

Honourable Mention - Maya Cabral Cordeiro

Winner - Clarisse Smith