Skip to main content Skip to local navigation
Home » Experience » Awards and Prizes » University-wide Writing Prizes » The President's Creative Writing Awards

The President's Creative Writing Awards

The President's Creative Writing Awards recognize excellence in the categories of short fiction, poetry, screenplay and stage play. They are open to all York undergraduate students.


Candidates must be full-time or part-time York University undergraduates.

Submissions will be received in the following categories:

  • Poetry
  • Short Fiction
  • Screenplay
  • Stage-Play

A prize of $1,000.00 will be awarded to the best entry in each category. In the event that the judges conclude no entry is of sufficient merit, no prize will be awarded.

The results of the competition will be announced in the spring and the prizes will be awarded at the Creative Writing Awards reception. Names will be published in yFile and will be posted on the English Department and Creative Writing Program website.

There is no minimum or maximum length requirement in each category, but submissions must fall within these categories (for example, the awards are not open to novels and opera librettos). Contestants may enter submissions in multiple categories but may submit no more than one entry in each category.

All submissions must be unpublished and original.

Please do not include the author’s name in the submission itself; include it only in your online submission form. Submissions that include the author’s name on the manuscript will be disqualified.

No late submissions will be accepted. No paper submissions will be accepted.

Past Winners

Poetry - Winner - Maria Helena Rykov

Poetry - Honourable Mention - Michael Kayser

Short Fiction - Winner - Suhana Rampersad

Short Fiction - Honourable Mention - Daryl Bruce

Screenplay - Winner - Abbie Henderson

Screenplay - Honourable Mention - Ivy de Rege-Braga

Screenplay - Honourable Mention - Taylor Levy

Stage Play - Winner - Sara Masciotra-Milstein

Poetry – Winner – Rachel Kearney

Short Fiction – Winner – Sehaj Brar

Screenplay – Winner – Abbie Henderson

Screenplay – Honorable Mention – Bernice Danjuma

Stage Play – Winner – Amanda Monasar

Stage Play – Winner – Emily Al-Jbouri

Poetry – Winner – Dante Nieuwold

Short Fiction – Winner – Rebecca Clarke

Short Fiction – Honorable Mention – Janet Rose Nguyen

Screenplay – Winner - Madeline Toal

Stage Play – Winner - Alysson McKee

Poetry – Winner – Susette Schacherl

Short Fiction – Winner – Natasha Levinski

Short Fiction – Honorable Mention – Harpit Samra

Screenplay – Winner – Julia Galle

Stage Play – no winner

Poetry – Winner – Luke Gagliardi

Poetry – Honorable Mentions – Eliot Gilbert and Kendra Guidolin

Short Fiction – Winner – Rebecca Mangra

Short Fiction – Honorable Mention – Susette Schacherl

Stage Play – Winner – Lance Morrison

Stage Play – Honorable Mention – Adam Nizam

Screenplay – Winner – Melanie White

Screenplay – Honorable Mention – James Dillon

Poetry – Winner - Susette Schacherl

Poetry – Honorable Mentions – Kathleen Hobbs and Jacob Morrow

Short Fiction – Winner – Susette Schacherl

Short Fiction – Honorable Mentions – Jacob Morrow and Hajer Mirwali

Stage play – Winners – Zachary Gladstone and Dylan Woods

Screenplay – Winner – Robert Apetagon

Screenplay – Honorable Mention – Devon Bain

Screenplay – Winner – Madeleine Patton

Poetry – Winner – Akash Bansal

Poetry – Honorable Mention – JR Enriquez Amparado

Stage Play – Winner – James Kenny

Short Fiction – Winner – Madeleine Patton

Short Fiction – Honorable Mention – Kate Hobbs

Poetry – Winners – Sarah Vandervecht and Chrisoula Maragos

Poetry – Honorable Mention – Kate Hobbs

Short Fiction – Winner - Stephanie McKechnie

Short Fiction – Honorable Mentions – Jade Gutherie and Vanesa Pasquarelli

Stage Play – Winners – Luke Reece and Devon Bain

Screenplay – Winners – Olivia Loccisano and Devon Bain

Poetry – Winner - Matthew Walsh

Poetry – Honorable Mention – Alex Millington and Shaina List

Short Fiction – Winner – Mark Jordan Manner

Short Fiction – Honorable Mention – Sara Flemington and Josh Edgar

Screenplay – Winners – Rodrigo Herrera and Earl Oliveros

Stage Play – Winner – Mark Jordan Manner