Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

Best of YU 2021

Best of YU 2021

As we look towards a new year, here are our 10 most memorable highlights from 2021:

#10 Dean’s Special Advisory Board

We launched our inaugural Dean’s Special Advisory Board to drive success and strengthen our collaboration with industry and community. FSc held a virtual public event to introduce board members to our community, including Board Chair Reza Moridi, former Ontario Minister of Research, Innovation and Science and Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities. Learn more

#9 2020-25 Strategic Plan

Our new 2020-25 Strategic Plan, Science for the Future, was unanimously endorsed by Faculty Council. It supports academic, research, and service excellence, diversity and inclusion, and a student-centered approach to all that we do. Learn more

#8 New international partnerships

We established new partnerships with international institutions that will lead to joint programming, student exchange opportunities, new research collaborations and more. York University and the Faculty of Science signed seven new agreements with institutions in China, South Korea and France. Learn more

#7 Dean's Scholarship for Women

We launched a Dean's Scholarship for Women to support domestic female students entering a graduate program in the Faculty of Science who demonstrate leadership skills, academic excellence, and research potential in the field of science. Learn more

#6 Fifteen years of Science Engagement Programming

Our Science Engagement Programs celebrated their 15th anniversary. Over the last 15 years, the programs have reached more than 26,500 students in STEM programs all over the world, including Peru, Germany, Ethiopia, China, Mexico, and France. Learn more

#5 Honours & Awards 2021

We celebrated our Teaching and Research award winners and all of the students who received scholarships and awards. Learn more

#4 Seven new professors

We welcomed seven new professors. Joining the ranks were Jade Atallah, Jingyi Cao, Elizabeth Clare, Jairo Diaz-Rodriguez, Lisa Robertson, Woldegebriel Assefa Woldegerima and Jihyeon “Jessie” Yang. Learn more

#3 Pedagogical Innovation Chair in Science

We created an inaugural Pedagogical Innovation Chair in Science Education and appointed Biology Professor Tamara Kelly to the position. Kelly is a longstanding leader in pedagogical scholarship, and has earned a reputation as an expert teacher, mentor, collaborator, and advocate for innovation and improvement to undergraduate education. Learn more

#2 $5M from Canada Foundation for Innovation

Our researchers were awarded more than $5 million in funding from the Canada Foundation for Innovation. Eric Hessels received more than $3.3 for the project Tabletop Probe of PeV-scale new physics, and Derek Wilson and Sergey Krylov received almost $2.1 million for the project Technology-Enhanced Drug Development and Manufacturing (TEnDev): MirrorLab.  Learn more

#1 $5.5M federal funding for national disease modelling efforts

Researchers in the Faculty of Science were awarded federal government funding to lead national disease modelling efforts that will help us better predict, prevent, and respond to emerging infectious disease. The One Health Modelling Network, led by Huaiping Zhu, received $2.5 million over two years. The project Mathematics for Public Health (MfPH), co-led by Jianhong Wu, received $3 million. Learn more

Share this: