Skip to main content Skip to local navigation

Social Science

Social Science

Social Science

We are here to help you succeed! Do you have questions about your degree requirements, a specific course or the best way to get into a degree program? If you have any concerns about accessing the courses and services you need, we are here to help. Connect with your advisor in-person, virtually or via email. Contact your assigned advisor in the Meet your Academic Advisor section.

Drop-in Advising


academic advisor meeting with young female student

In-Person Advising

Check in at the front desk at 103 Central Square. Drop-in advising is first-come, first-served.

Hours of Operation:

Monday and Tuesday 9:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 2:00 - 3:45p.m.
Thursday 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 2:00 - 3:45 p.m.

Location:

103 Central Square


male asian student in front of the laptop

Virtual Advising

Virtual drop-in advising via QLESS is available for Social Science majors seeking academic advice at the following days and times.

Hours of Operation:

Monday and Tuesday 9:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 2:00 - 3:45 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m. and 2:00 - 3:45 p.m.

  1. Join our Virtual Kiosk OR download the QLESS app on your smartphone from Google Play or the iTunes App Store. (Open the app and select "Faculty of Liberal Arts & Professional Studies")   
  2. Select the Social Science Virtual Advising queue.
  3. Click Join Now
  4. Fill out your name and phone number.
  5. Fill in a short form regarding your student information. Add any notes for your advisor, including topics you’d like to discuss, and whether you prefer phone or Zoom.
  6. You’ll receive a text message when an academic advisor is ready to see you.

Each drop-in session is about 15-30 minutes, first-come, first-served. The QLESS queue will close for the day once it reaches capacity.

Booked Appointments


female student with an advisor

Academic Advising offers appointments in-person in 103 Central Square or virtually via Zoom or phone. Students may contact their assigned advisor to schedule an appointment or complete the Social Science advising appointment request form.

Appointments are not scheduled for the same day. 

After you schedule an appointment, you will receive a confirmation e-mail from your academic advisor or soscadv@yorku.ca with your appointment information. Make sure to review the information prior to your appointment.

Meet your Advisors

Fiona Grose

Student Success and Academic Advisor

International Development Studies, Work & Labour Studies

Email: fgrose@yorku.ca

Tara Lilley

Student Success and Academic Advisor

Business & Society: Last names starting with M to Z, Interdisciplinary Social Science: Last names starting with K to Z

Email: tlilley@yorku.ca

Elma Milasin

Student Success and Academic Advisor

Health & Society, Urban Studies

Email: emilasin@yorku.ca

Ladonna Taylor

Student Success and Academic Advisor

Law & Society

Email: ladonna@yorku.ca

Lan Tran

Student Success and Academic Advisor

Business & Society: Last names starting with A to L, Interdisciplinary Social Science: Last names starting with A to J

Email: tranlan@yorku.ca

Tsering Yangchen

Student Success and Academic Advisor

African Studies, Criminology

Email: tseyang@yorku.ca

Please note that academic advisors are not able to assist with enrolling students into courses that are full or reserved. For course permission requests, please follow up directly with the department offering the course.

Program-Specific Support

If you have general inquiries about your program, please review the contact information below.

ProgramEmail
African Studiesafst@yorku.ca
Business & Societybuso@yorku.ca
Criminologycrimprog@yorku.ca
Health & Societyheso@yorku.ca
Interdisciplinary Social Sciencessdegree@yorku.ca
International Development Studiesids@yorku.ca
Law & Societylaso@yorku.ca
Urban Studiesurst@yorku.ca
Work & Labour Studieswkls@yorku.ca
instructor with students in front of laptop
Categories: